We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

2-Hour Messina Walking Tour

Select Date and Travellers
From
USD 21.42
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Make your way to a meeting point in Messina’s Cathedral Square, or arrange pickup at your accommodation. Join a local guide and group for a tour of the city’s key sites. Starting with the square, you’ll see a bell tower with the largest astronomical clock in the world, a complex mechanism built by a pair of brothers from Strasburg.

    Duck into the cathedral to see Byzantine mosaics, then continue to the nearby Annunziata dei Catalani Church, an exquisite example of Norman-Arab architecture. See the Mountain of Mercy and the Church of Saint Francis of Assisi, one of the oldest churches in Messina, dating back to the year 1254. Walk to the Zanca Palace, the Town Hall, and the Palace of Culture, which houses a modern art gallery.

    The final stop is the Teatro Vittorio Emanuele II, an elegant theater with a spectacular fresco painted by a great Messina artist. After your time at the theater, this two-hour Messina walking tour concludes in the heart of the historic city.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    1: Messina Cruise Terminal - Terminal Crociere, Via Vittorio Emanuele II, 47, 98122 Messina ME, Italy
    2: Via I Settembre, 110, 98122 Messina ME, Italy
    3: Messina, Province of Messina, Italy

    Traveler pickup is offered
    For the participants which are not cruise ship passengers the meeting point is on our DISCOVER MESSINA OFFICE located in VIA I SETTEMBRE, 110, MESSINA.
    Duration
    2h
    Return Details
    Via Giuseppe Garibaldi, 111, 98122 Messina ME, Italy
    Inclusions
    • Professional guide
    • Tasting of typical Sicilian products
    Exclusions
    • Food and Drinks
    • Gratuities
    • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
    • A minimum of 1 people per booking is required
    • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • Please provide contact details in Special Requirements field at time of booking (e.g. cellular number)
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    Reviews (55)
    Filter reviews
    25 results
    Traveller rating
    19
    3
    1
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    19
    3
    1
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews clock tower great tour lovely city cake an amazing guide booked this tour small group cruise ship cannoli tania carlotta charlotte personality noon communication action earthquake
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 25 reviews
    Reviewed 3 days ago

    This was an outstanding historical walk through Messina which enabled us to see the beautiful cathedrals, the Astronomical Clock, the Piazza Unione Europea, etc. Our tour guide Tania spoke five languages and was completely knowledgeable about all the places we visited, giving us historical perspective...More

    Date of experience: August 2019
    Thank Carolyn and Dic... S
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    We were looking forward to our tour in Messina but as the guide failed to turn up at the meeting point we were very disappointed and would certainly not recommend this tourMore

    Date of experience: August 2019
    Thank Similians
    discoverME, Owner at Discover Messina Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Sir We are sorry for not being able to offer our tour and assist you. Due to technical and organisational issues, that day was critical for the entire team and for this reason we were unable to offer you the necessary support. We thank...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    Ciarra our guide was very good. She earned a 4/5 rating. She had a good narrative, pleasant disposition, made it interesting, BUT the place is a mess. Graffiti seems to be acceptable, derelict buildings, messy sidewalks, fountains with no water. The church beside the bell...More

    Thank BriantheLionTauranga
    Reviewed 4 August 2019 via mobile

    We had really a very good time with Chiara, our tour guide. Very practical and convenient the Whastapp message before the tour so we knew that everything was set and easy. It was a pretty hot August day in Messina, but Chiara managed to keep...More

    1  Thank patparis007
    Reviewed 2 August 2019

    Cool tour with Tania! I like that she was very real about life in Messina and some of the economic challenges. She also knew a good amount of history and lore. I learned about the meeting off the two seas (Ionian and Tyrrhenian) and how...More

    Date of experience: July 2019
    Thank robertsR4461IN
    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Ask a question
    Dianne16322
    6 June 2019|
    Answer
    Response from discoverME | Property representative |
    Hello, at the moment for the date required, we have only 2 participants at this type of tour. We try to keep a small-medium number of participants in order to offer better assistance.
    0
    Votes
    Google Translation
    julsngraham
    21 May 2019|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from prendergasts2016 | Reviewed this property |
    We were lucky enough just to have our family of 3 and one other couple on our tour. Our guide was great and did say they try and keep the groups small.
    0
    Votes
    Thelma L
    23 April 2019|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from prendergasts2016 | Reviewed this property |
    Hi there, we just booked online and the guide met us outside the cruise terminal. Hope that helps.
    2
    Votes
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: