Tours and Tickets

5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts provided by Icelandic Mountain Guides

5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Recommended by 95% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
AU$2,617.74
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Itinerary
Overview
Full Map
6 stops
Day 1
Reykjavik - Landmannalaugar -...
Day 2
Hrafntinnusker - Álftavatn
Day 3
Álftavatn - Emstrur
Day 4
Emstrur - Þórsmörk
Day 5
Þórsmörk - Reykjavík
+
Important Information
Departure Point
BSI, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Duration
5 days
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Guide for 5 days
  • Lunch
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Breakfast
  • Dinner
  • Dinner
  • Lunch
  • Lunch
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Breakfast
  • Public transportation to and from Reykjavík
  • Full board from lunch on day 1 to lunch on day 5
  • Cooking gear
  • Luggage transportation from hut to hut.
  • Snacks
  • Coffee and/or Tea
Exclusions
  • Fee for showers (around 500 ISK)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Age limit is 14 years
  • Please advise for any special dietary needs at the time of booking if required
  • All huts are heated and access to showers is on the way (not the first night). The huts have dormitory with single and twin bunk beds, participants have to be prepared to share a bunk with other travelers from the group.
  • Not all huts have electricity.
  • Near public transportation
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Cancellation Policy
If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
17Reviews
2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
SteppiJune2018 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
We felt so safe and welcome with our lovely guides Greta and Agust. Organisation and fellowship were great at all time. They gave us the best fact and emotions of the landscape and their earthborn vikings they are. I will never forget hattafell and the impressions on the track
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Arc_Mountain_Guides, Director of Sales at 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Hello SteppiJune2018 and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you liked the tour and our guides, Gréta and Ágúst. They really are two of Icelandic Mountain Guides finest. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon in Iceland. Best regards, Barði
Read more
Dara wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
I booked the 5-day Laugavegur Huts Trek on February 2020 and was scheduled to begin the tour in late June. Then Covid-19 happened. I emailed the company to see what their cancellation policy was, and they replied the next day with a few options that were all very reasonable.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ah0208, Customer Service Representative at 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Responded 22 May 2020
Good Morning Dana, Thank you for your kind words. We do appreciate that in these uncertain times, kindness and understanding goes a long way. As you experienced, our sales and service team gave you the available options, and tried to find a solution that works for all parties. Our team are very humbled to hear that your experience with us was amazing, even without the actual tour taking place, we pride ourselves on professionalism and quality, this being a core element of the Icelandic Mountain Guides ethos. From all of us here, we wish you well and are certainly looking towards the future, when we hopefully will see you soon. Best Regards Scott
Read more
Rita A wrote a review Sep 2019
Madison, Wisconsin, United States1 contribution1 helpful vote
This trip was amazing! My adult children and I were on this adventure together. Solvi was a great guide, and taught us so many things about Iceland that I wouldn't have otherwise learned. Also had authentic Icelandic foods each night. 5 days of hiking, sometimes with less
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arc_Mountain_Guides, Guest Relations Manager at 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Hello Rita, Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy to hear that you have a splendid time with our guide Sölvi. We pride ourselves on our guides and the authentic experience that we strive to offer to our guests, and we are glad to hear your compliments for our guide Sölvi and the services we provided. We hope that you will come back to Iceland and we will see you again in the near future :)
Read more
ItaiSpiegel wrote a review Sep 2019
Herzliya, Israel2 contributions
TL;DR Don't book the self guided tours, arrange them yourselves. I took the self guided Laugavegur Trail Tour and it was a complete waste of money. The trail was amazing and I really enjoyed every part of it, but the tour was a total rip off. You pay at least 600$ to the
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Arc_Mountain_Guides, Director of Sales at 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Responded 18 Sep 2019
Hello ItaiSpiegel, and thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service and pricing of our Laugavegur Trail Self Guided Package. When you book our self-guided tours, you are paying for a service. We provide the transport, accommodations in mountain huts, a comprehensive information package, and a map of the hiking route. We take care of all this for you, but of course, that service is not free. However, there is always room to improve, and we will take a careful look at our pricing to see if there is anything we can do to make our service more affordable. As you mentioned correctly, we also offer guided versions of the Laugavegur Trail, including luggage transfer and meals cooked by the guide, often with assistance from the group. The amount of food we bring on each tour is carefully calculated to minimize waste and load on our transfer vehicles. Meals are not included in the self-drive packages, and even though there might be leftovers from other groups, those leftovers may be used for lunch the following day or as part of later meals. Again, I am sorry to hear that our service did not meet your standards, and we appreciate your feedback. If there is anything else, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at bardi@mountainguides.is. Best regards, Barði Theódórsson Sales Manager
Read more
FlyBy wrote a review Jul 2019
Pennsylvania8 contributions1 helpful vote
Just completed the Laugavegur tour with guides Emma and Pad. Could not have had a better time! Trekking this trail is an amazing life experience with overwhelming sights that cannot be adequately described, and a phenomenal group of people who may become life-long friends. While
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Icelandic Mountain Guides
LydRaff
LydRaff
00
Great guide, fun little hike
We did a three hour glacier hike with Dan Saulite and we were so impressed. The glacier was striking and Dan was a
Tifaine007
Tifaine007
00
Amazing hike!
We had an amazing time on this glacier hike with our guide David. We had never climbed a glacier before but felt sa
Jamie01011
Jamie01011
00
Great experience, highly recommend!
The glacier hike was really beautiful with some awesome landscapes. Our guide Solvi was amazing at gearing us with
harigopalmv
harigopalmv
00
Excellent Driving
The tour was really nice and it has been explained well how to us the bike and the guide was so friendly. Definitel
ID_UK_US
ID_UK_US
00
Great Glacier Walk
We booked this walk after stopping at Skaftafell for myself and my 12-year-old son. We were a bit concerned that t
Morten D
Morten D
00
Solheimajokull - glacier discovery.
We went for a 3 hours glacier walk with the guide Tamas. Mainly because of him, the tour was an excellent experienc
Luela86
Luela86
00
Excellent
I was anxious at first because i had never done anything of the sort before, but that feeling disappeared after 10
MichalZakrzewski
MichalZakrzewski
00
Glacier hike
Very nice, easy hike, with very nice guide (Thomas), that has shared with us his knowledge and good humor!
vishmaic
vishmaic
00
A must have experience!
Our initial plan was to do the 2hr hike to the plain wreck, but it was raining heavily and started looking for alte
FellowTraveller96
FellowTraveller96
00
Great hike
The hike on the glacier was very cool, saw some different places which were very beautiful to see. Clear blue ice,
Wander773623
Wander773623
00
Exellent!
we went hiking on Fimmvorduhals with Michael from Tekkland and it was a wonderful experience. Such a well guieded t
Toooooooom73
Toooooooom73
00
Amazing
With our guide Pepe, we had a very enjoyable hike on the Solheimajokull. He is very Interesting and have a great se
marielauregodet
marielauregodet
00
Fimmvorduhals hike : one of the best hikes in Iceland
Beautiful hike from Skogafoss to Pórsmork on July 28th, 2020 with our 3 boys (19, 16 and 13 years old). We were ver
PiotrQDX
PiotrQDX
00
A fascinating first contact with the glacier
Fascinating first contact with the glacier, very nice guide, well-prepared trip, all equipment on place.
DKHenriette
DKHenriette
00
Magical adventure!
The glacier hike was a magical experience for my son of 10 years and I with our fantastic guide Renata! There was j
Key Details
  • Umferðarmiðstöðin BSÍ, Landmannalaugar, and 7 more
  • Duration: 5 days
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 7 days in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 7 days in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255
Frequently Asked Questions about 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts