We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Reykjavik
Post
Inbox
Search

Small-Group Snorkeling Experience at Silfra Fissure in Thingvellir National Park

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
USD 143.01
Date
2 travellers
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Highlights
    What to Expect
    After selecting a departure time, make your own way to Iceland's UNESCO-listed Thingvellir National Park and greet your guide at the information office.

    Here, receive all the equipment necessary for snorkeling, including dry suits to wear over your clothes, and receive a thorough safety briefing from your PADI-certified instructor.

    Once you feel ready to plunge into the turquoise waters surrounding the Silfra Fissure, don your snorkel and swim in the crystal-clear water. Gaze to the bottom of the 82-foot (24-meter) ravine, which bridges the gap between the North American and Eurasian tectonic plates.

    Throughout your snorkeling experience, receive personalized attention in a small group of 10. Conclude at your original departure point in Thingvellir National Park.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Thingvellir, Iceland
    Duration
    3h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Certified PADI Diveguide / Divemaster
    • All necessary snorkeling gear
    • Dry suit
    • Entry/Admission - Thingvellir National Park
    Exclusions
    • Food & drinks
    • Transportation to/from Reykjavik
    • Towel
    • Gratuities
    • Tour Photos (Available for purchase)
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 2 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
    • Remember to bring: Warm base layers, preferably made from fleece or wool (not cotton), warm woolen socks, a small towel and a change of clothes (just in case)
    • You will be provided with dry suits to wear over your clothing while snorkeling
    • Please note that all participants must be able to swim to be able to participate in the tour
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Tour photos from your snorkeling adventure available for purchase for a small fee
    • This is a small group tour limited to 6 participants per guide for a more persona experience.
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    40Reviews1Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 31
    • 3
    • 1
    • 0
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    We had an amazing October day. Sunny, cold and no wind. The preparation takes a while, into a warm underlayer, wetsuit on, then hood and gloves. This is after the briefing, explanation and declaration of medical problems. The changing van is heated, so good when changing.
    Read more
    Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small-Group Snorkeling Experience at Silfra Fissure in Thingvellir National Park
    Responded 4 weeks ago
    Hello KateC129, Thank you so much for taking the time out and leaving us a review, we really appreciate that. We are so happy to hear that you had an amazing experience! We hope you will come back soon for more adventures with us! Best regards, Erika
    Read more
    We had a great time on our second day in Iceland snorkeling in the Silfra fissure followed by horseback riding. I had never snorkeled before but our instructor, Tom was patient as well as entertaining. He kept us laughing while also giving us historical details of the area. He
    Read more
    Our family of four (my husband and I and our children ages 18 and 12) did the snorkeling in the Silfra Fissure and it was an amazing and memorable experience. Being from South Florida, we tried to mentally prepare for the arctic water. We've done lots of snorkeling in wet
    Read more
    Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small-Group Snorkeling Experience at Silfra Fissure in Thingvellir National Park
    Responded 25 Sep. 2019
    Hello MahanFamily, We really appreciate you for taking the time out and writing us this amazing review! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and the community. We are looking forward to your next visit! Best regards, Erika
    Read more
    The tour was really well managed. Getting setup in the dry suits was well run in the parking lot. The guide was fabulous. He explained the snorkeling and guided us through well. He explained everything about the area and took great pictures. My 4 star rating is because I did
    Read more
    Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small-Group Snorkeling Experience at Silfra Fissure in Thingvellir National Park
    Responded 25 Sep. 2019
    Hello Red90rover, We are very happy to know that the tour went well for you. Thanks for taking the time and writing us a fabulous review! Best regards, Erika
    Read more
    Our trip began a bit frantically because we couldn’t figure out how to read the Icelandic parking meter! Huffy pulled up in our tour van and jumped out to help us! Without him we may have returned to Reykjavik to a towed or ticketed car! He was also a delightful guide; warm,
    Read more
    Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small-Group Snorkeling Experience at Silfra Fissure in Thingvellir National Park
    Responded 25 Sep. 2019
    Hello amymac31, We really appreciate you for taking your time and leaving us a great review. We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the tour. We can't wait for you to come back soon to have more adventures! Best regards, Erika
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Duration: 3h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255