Tours and Tickets

Akureyri Airvan Flight: Iceland Highland Ultimate provided by Circle Air - Akureyri

Akureyri Airvan Flight: Iceland Highland Ultimate

Akureyri Airvan Flight: Iceland Highland Ultimate
4.5
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
Soar above some of the most amazing pearls of the highlands in this 2.5 to 3-hour ultimate tour with a sand-strip landing in the heart of the highlands. Get an astonishing aerial perspective of the Askja caldera, the NASA astronauts´s training grounds and the queen of all Icelandic mountains, Mt Herðubreið. The trip would not be completed without flying above the magnificent Vatnajökull glacier, the largest and most voluminous icecap in Iceland and the largest glacier in Europe.  From Vatnajokull we fly over Iceland´s most recent lavafield towards the Askja caldera, where we´ll spend some some time making sure everybody gets a good look and then set a home bound course over the vast lavafield of Odadahraun. This air tour can only be described as the Ultimate Air Tour, since we experience lava fields, waterfalls, calderas, craters and glacier in one trip.  Great value and an adventure of a lifetime.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 140-180 minutes
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 140-180 minutes
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 39609P2
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Beverages
  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Professional guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
140–180 minutes
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Eyjafjarðarbraut vestri, Akureyri, Iceland
  • Airports:
  • Akureyri Airport, Akureyri Iceland
  • Ports:
  • Port of Akureyri
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 7 travellers
Inclusions
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Beverages
  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Professional guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Eyjafjarðarbraut vestri, Akureyri, Iceland
  • Airports:
  • Akureyri Airport, Akureyri Iceland
  • Ports:
  • Port of Akureyri
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
140–180 minutes
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 7 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Eyjafjarðarbraut vestri
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • Pass by
    Askja
    Vatnajokull Glacier
  • You'll return to the starting point
+

4.5
7 reviews
Excellent
5
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

OxfordTripper
Wilmington, DE55 contributions
Very disappointing service - we never flew
Aug. 2019
My experience with Circle Air was quite different than the other reviewers on TripAdvisor. In fact, I booked the Iceland Highland Ultimate flight with Circle Air on the strength of the positive reviews on this TripAdvisor site. Here's our saga (excuse the Icelandic pun). I booked with them in June of 2019 for a flight scheduled for mid-August 2019. No problems with booking online and the full amount was charged to my AMEX immediately. I had some questions about the trip logistics which I posed by email and through their company website. No response, so I called them in July and spoke to a friendly person who stated that they require at least 3 people to fly (we had 2) so they could not commit to the trip, but would confirm that we would fly if other guests booked the same flight for the same day. I informed him that we could flexible re: timing over the 2 days that we planned to stay in Akureyri.

Unlike other Icelandic tour vendors who were very good about contacting us by email or text as our tour dates approached, it was radio silence from Circle Air. So, 1 day before our scheduled flight, I called them and spoke to a very friendly Magnus, who informed me that there were no other takers for our flight and besides the expected weather on the next day would prevent flying out even if there were other passengers. He asked me to call back the morning of which I did; the flight was cancelled because of weather. I asked if my fees would be returned to AMEX and he assured me it would. I returned home from Iceland and allowed 2 weeks to pass, but no refund was issued to AMEX. I once again emailed and messaged through their website (I have the confirmation emails that I did) to inquire about my refund. Again, complete radio silence. Finally, I contacted AMEX and asked them to inquire about this charge and seek a refund. Two weeks later, they contacted me to tell me they received no response from Circle Air.

It seems clear that other customers had much more favorable experiences with Circle Air. I was hoping for the same. Of course, it's not their fault that the flight was cancelled for weather (I'm glad they take a safety first approach), but their communication (or lack thereof other than by phone) and apparent unwillingness to process a refund for a cancelled (by them) trip is disappointing and unacceptable. I hope other guests do not have the experience we had.
Written 23 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Oxford Tripper, We´re truly sorry for your experience and understand entirely your feeling of non-appreciation. We had a software glitch with our homepage communication widget, which basically meant none of your communication came through to us. We sincerely hope to be able to make it up to you. Please get in touch on circleair@circleair.is to explore your free tickets options. Your AMEX refund should be through by now. At least it has been processed by us. We have not yet heard from AMEX, though. Sincerely, Thorvaldur - Managing Director
Written 24 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Antonio V
18 contributions
Fabulous
Don’t even doubt it!! Go for it!!! Now!!!!

28-June-2019
Askja highland ultimate air tour
1 adult 1 teenager 16 years old
Written 9 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for your kind words! We really strive to make your arctic experience worth while :-)
Written 13 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

guddimagg
Akureyri, Iceland10 contributions
Breathtaking !
We went on tour in quite windy weather and where asked if we dont mind about possible terbilance, we said yes and we dont regret that desision. Amazing view and got to see how the new Holuhraun (lava field) on the highlands looks like in windy conditions and got some dramatic view of huge sandstorm. We saw Askja the caldera, Kverkfjöll mountain, Herpubreid mountain in all its glory, flew circles over lake Myvatn. The pilot new many details about all the locations and seem to enjoy it just as much as we, he made sure everyone made good pictures of all locations, we highly recommend this trip to everyone passing trough the north to get to tall different view of Iceland.
I'm a local here and I must say I will have different perspective how my country lookslike. Want to think Circle Air for amazing trip and will recommend this to everybody from now on!
Written 25 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for you kind words and recommendations to fellow travellers!
Written 13 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Holly M
Nashville, TN32 contributions
Favorite activity of our trip
Sep. 2017 • Couples
Excellent adventure! Small propeller plane, 3 hour tour, of the Icelandic highlands, geothermal area, fly over (or near, depending on wind), see Godafoss from above, and land in the highlands in front of a beautiful mountain. We booked in advance but a few days ahead of the date checked the weather and it was looking bad regarding high chance of rain, clouds, wind. We emailed and asked them if we could come a couple days before instead, when the weather was supposed to be better, and they were able to change our reservation and fit us in. SO glad we did because the weather could not have been more beautiful. The guy who answers the phones and manages the reservations was so helpful and gave us some other tips for things to see in the area and the pilot was nice and experienced. Definitely the best value (regarding cost for the length of air time) compared to helicopter tours I looked into and worth every single penny!
Written 18 November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your kind words! We strive to make everybody´s Iceland trip unique and do not hesitate to change the schedule for the benefit of the customer. We´re glad the flexibility paid off. Kind regards! Thorvaldur
Written 24 December 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Circle Air - Akureyri
ffisher_14
ffisher_14
00
Life Above the Arctic Circle
We started off with a bit of confusion at Akureyri, as Circle Air had transferred all its flights to a different c
Ken C
Ken C
00
Circle Air Reykjavik Gerlingadalur volcano air tour July 2021
Thorvaldsen (Managing Director) was our Captain for our Circle Air volcano flight. The newly erupting Gerlingadalur
Kamm G
Kamm G
00
Touching Waterfalls, Mountains and even whales !
This Trip surpassed every expectation on every front. From the moment we met the owner who was so friendly, polite
WaterFishSinSan
WaterFishSinSan
00
Great experience
We did the glacier and into the glacier experience. The tour was superb and was a blast! Our tour guide Magus was
1994paula
1994paula
00
Amazing diamond circle flight!
I did the Diamond Circle by airplane and I can claim that is one of the most beautiful experience in my life! A mus
Sashita96
Sashita96
00
Amazing experience!
We had a private tour on a helicopter. All the workers were polite and friendly. Our professional pilot Jonas with
Vacation77170
Vacation77170
00
Experience of a lifetime!
Our private tour combined Diamond Circle and Arctic Express. The views over Iceland were incredible and the tour of
OscarC1949
OscarC1949
00
Amazing flight over Myvatn
The owner is a great guy, very friendly and informative about the everything you wanna know about then area and the
NordicNature
NordicNature
00
Sightseeing flight
We had a fabulous time in the air over Myvatn, Krafla and all the waterfalls. The whole team at Circle Air did a gr
Psykee
Psykee
00
Fantastic Beauties and Where to Find Them
“Fantastic beauties and where to find them!” There is a magic circle in Iceland that will take you up above the wo
cgrubaums
cgrubaums
00
Great views and even better customer service!
Right as we arrived we were welcomed and greeted by the pilot and Thorunn, who owns the place, and they were both v
F3506CWjamieh
F3506CWjamieh
00
Diamond Circle
An amazing experience, I have lived in Iceland for 7 years and recently moved to the North. I can honestly say this
AtmaSilviaBoek
AtmaSilviaBoek
00
One of my best experiences in life!!
Amazing experience- you’ll never forget!! We got a great informative storytelling about the areas we would be flyin
mail2europatr
mail2europatr
00
DONT`T BOOK!!
We booked the flight and payed ISK 168.000. From that moment on nobody from Circle Air could be reached. I tried fo
Judi l
Judi l
00
Unbelievable Sightseeing!
We had a great sightseeing trip of Diamond circle, which includes Dettifoss and Godafoss waterfalls and Lake Mytvan