Tours and Tickets

Aurora Borealis Picnic in Rovaniemi provided by Safartica

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Aurora Borealis Picnic in Rovaniemi

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
AU$112.74
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Safartica
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Safartica
    Stop: 2 hours
    The Northern Lights, also known as Aurora Borealis, are possible to be observed in the polar zone of the world.
    Read more
  • You'll end at
    Safartica
    Safartica, Koskikatu 9, 96200 Rovaniemi, Finland
    See address & details
+
Important Information
Departure Point
Safartica, Koskikatu 9, 96200 Rovaniemi, Finland
Duration
3h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Winter clothing
  • Car transfer
  • Lappish picnic
  • Hot drinks
  • Guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with two paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
14Reviews
3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 1
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Angela Genova wrote a review Dec. 2019
1 contribution
I'd like to express my disappointment from the tour they organized for us on 25.11.2019. They knew that the day isn't suitable for the Northern Light to be seen, and still didnt't offer anything in exchange. At least they could've tried to find a place with no clouds. The food
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Lapland S, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Aurora Borealis Picnic in Rovaniemi
Responded 12 Dec. 2019
Dear Angela, Thank you for your review and email as well. Since we know Aurora borealis is very difficult to forecast we offer a change for our clients to re-schedule Aurora Borealis Picnic still on the same day of the activity. I'm really sorry you have missed this information in the activity description when making the reservation but unfortunately we don't cancel or amend the reservation whether we don't get a notification for this from our clients. We are focusing on creating an experience on our evening safaris and whether we manage to catch the northern lights it is a great bonus. But obviously we can never guarantee whether one would see them in the evening or not. I hope this explained the situation.
Read more
Ritesh S wrote a review Feb. 2019
New Delhi, India23 contributions5 helpful votes
Me and my wife went to Rovaniemi for our 9th anniversary . Like everyone , only thing on our mind was to be lucky enough to see aurora borealis . Went through numerous brochures of service providers and came across Safartica !! Brochure was impressive, brief and precise . Trip
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from SafarticaRovaniemi, Asiakaspalvelujohtaja at Aurora Borealis Picnic in Rovaniemi
Responded 13 Feb. 2019
Dear ritzony, Oooh, There are not enough words to describe how happy I am that you were able to see the northern lights. They are really difficult to forecast and needs prefect timing and location so this tour has really been a success! I will pass your words to Rafael, Byron and Essi, they are great aren't they :)
Read more
IamTeknik wrote a review Dec. 2017
Durban, South Africa67 contributions30 helpful votes
I went around Christmas time in 2017 in hopes of seeing the Northern Lights with my family and friends. I traveled to Norway last year Christmas and saw the Northern Lights 4 times with the guides taking beautiful photos, providing wonderful meals and conversation. Of course
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SafarticaMari, Asiakaspalvelujohtaja at Aurora Borealis Picnic in Rovaniemi
Responded 23 Feb. 2018
Thank you for taking time for your review. I'm sorry to hear that it was foggy on the night for your tour. But as you said, we never know whether the northern lights will appear and they are really difficult to forecast. This is the reason we give the opportunity for our clients to reschedule the tour even on the same day without extra charge. I'm sorry if you didn't get this information or if you didn't have other days as an option. Actually we do have several spots for this activity, it's not always the same location we go. But as per your story the weather conditions have been similar all over Rovaniemi. Regarding to vegetarian meal, I'll make a note on this matter. It's unfortunate what happened on your activity and you are correct that there should be at least few extra vegetarian options with our guides. I hope your experience in Rovaniemi and Finland was positive even without catching the northern light. Hope to have you back one day!
Read more
DemiMos wrote a review Nov. 2017
London, United Kingdom39 contributions32 helpful votes
We booked this activity to see the northern lights. The guides were one Finish (very good and professional), one Spanish and one Italian. When we arrived at the point the bus left and the team started preparing the meal with strong lights on their heads. They told us not to use
Read more
Date of experience: November 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Read 3 more reviews on Viator
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Safartica
Gogoy123
00
Mrs
All staffs at Safartica know well to welcoming guest, not like a provider near Safartica office. Mikhail is our sno
Read more
Larkita
00
Fun snowmobiling time
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the full day snowmobiling tour. The tour guide, Jagos (?spelling), was very kno
Read more
F1988ZMteresah
00
Relaxing & Serene
Wonderful experiance to float under the stars. We werent lucky enough to see Northern Lights but we did have clear
Read more
allimos
00
Every euro was worth it
I was so lucky that on the activity I was alone with Hugo, the professor 👌🏻. We went to the river, inside the for
Read more
yula01
00
Excellent activity in rovaniemi
Great time to pass 5 day light hours in rovaniemi. Well organized team and clearly experienced group leader. The vi
Read more
harshitajhavar
00
Below Average
There is no effort to wait longer for northern lights. They made us float, however kept the light on most of the ti
Read more
goodylad
00
Great adventure
Can you imagine snowmobiling down a frozen river with an anticipation of seeing the Northern Lights? Very cold so
Read more
Inverspec
00
Great tours
Hello there,, We did a couple of tours with Safartica, their guides were very friendly and prices were somewhat re
Read more
GGerard
00
Nice day snowmobile trip
Nice experience for the day snowmobile trip. Good equipment and pleasant guide. May be we were lucky with a low num
Read more
tekirova
00
Professional and capable team
We took the looong snow mobile tour (75 km.) which was a bit too long in arctic temperatures. Our guide, Martin was
Read more
Joyce T
00
Arctic Zoo, Reindeer and Husky Visits with Safartica Operator !
First and foremost, would like to bring to your attention for this delayed review. I was unable to submit 2 reviews
Read more
Steviebrady
00
AMAZING
We came to Lapland for the first time in January 2020, 12th-15th. I booked this trip for the 14th and it was worth
Read more
GingerCat101
00
I'd give this 10 out of 5 if I could!
The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities at the site are great (we played in the snow, walked on a frozen
Read more
LAX-HKG
00
Amazing experience
My son and I signed up for Ice-fishing by car on Christmas Eve. Reservations were made through the internet; the c
Read more
johncD8686IC
00
Amazing
My wife and I did this activity recently and found the company and the the night ice floating amazing. We were take
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255
Frequently Asked Questions about Aurora Borealis Picnic in Rovaniemi