EuropeThe NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamThings to do in AmsterdamTours and Tickets

Hop on Hop off Bus to Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam from Amsterdam - with unbiased reviews

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Hop on Hop off Bus to Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam from Amsterdam

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
USD 23.16
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Spend a day exploring the Dutch countryside for less than the price of most canal cruises with this user-friendly hop-on hop-off bus tour. Create your own itinerary and stay as long as you want at seven different stops including Zaanse Schans, Monnickendam, and Edam. Learn the history of windmills and other famous sights with a free audio guide app, and do more with easy upgrades like a cheese museum tour and photo in traditional Dutch clothing.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Overhoeksplein 51
Overhoeksplein 51, 1031 KS Amsterdam, NetherlandsThe meeting point is at THIS IS HOLLAND. Please take the free ferry from Central Station in the direction 'Buiksloterweg'. This is a two minute ferry ride. From here, turn left, it is then a three minute walk to This is Holland.
See address & details
  • 1
    Zaanse Schans
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Cheese Market Edam
    Stop: 60 minutes -
    See details
  • 3
    Edams Museum
    Stop: 40 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 4
    Volendam
    Stop: 45 minutes -
    See details
  • 5
    Jacobs Hoeve Cheese Farm by Henri Willig
    Stop: 30 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 6
    Monnickendam
    Stop: 45 minutes -
    See details
  • 7
    Hop On Hop Off Holland
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
You'll end at
Overhoeksplein 51
Overhoeksplein 51, 1031 KS Amsterdam, NetherlandsThe meeting point is at THIS IS HOLLAND. Please take the free ferry from Central Station in the direction 'Buiksloterweg'. This is a two minute ferry ride. From here, turn left, it is then a three minute walk to This is Holland.
See address & details
Highlights
  • Easily reach seven different Dutch country towns from Amsterdam
  • See the photogenic windmills of Zaanse Schans
  • Optional upgrades include a canal ride and Edam cheese museum tour
  • Track bus departures and access self-guided tours through a free app
Important Information
Departure Point
Overhoeksplein 51, 1031 KS Amsterdam, Netherlands
Duration
5–6 hours
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Hop-on hop-off bus tour
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Free guided tour at Henri Willig Cheese Farm
  • Multilingual audio tour through app on the bus
  • Self-guided walking tours (English) available through app at each stop
  • Countryside guide book including information on each stop and local tips
  • Entry/Admission - Zaanse Schans
  • Entry/Admission - Jacobs Hoeve Cheese Farm by Henri Willig
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Entry/Admission - Edams Museum
  • Entry/Admission - Hop On Hop Off Holland
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please be aware that the buses drive in one direction only. For example: when you hop-off in Volendam, it is not possible to go back to the stop in Edam
  • The day ticket is valid on the day of the stamp. When you return to THIS IS HOLLAND, you are not able to use your bus ticket for another round trip
  • If you would like to take advantage of the great audio tour, make sure to download the free Hop-On Hop-Off app! Code is available at the check-in desk at THIS IS HOLLAND. This is located on the ground floor. Free Wi-Fi on board the bus
  • No phone? You can rent mobile devices for €3 per device and purchase earplugs for €2 per set at the check-in desk at THIS IS HOLLAND
  • Via the Hop-On Hop-Off app, you are able to see the live location of the bus and can always check if the bus is nearby
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
36Reviews
19Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Coastal564866 wrote a review Sep. 2019
7 contributions
Excellent tour that gives you an insight into the rural part of Amsterdam. Zaanse Schans was really picturesque and the windmills were very interesting. Got to go inside one and climbed the steep stairs to see the workings of the mill. Edam was a quiet quaint town and a stroll
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Response from HopOnHopOffHolland, Manager at Hop on Hop off Bus to Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam from Amsterdam
Responded 23 Sep. 2019
Dear Coastal564866, Thank you for your kind review about the Hop on Hop off Holland bus! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your day out in the countryside. Kind regards, Team Hop on Hop off Holland
Read more
Sand P wrote a review Sep. 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We did the half day tour after disembarking from a cruise in the morning. While we found the app lacking, as others have stated and the reason for my removing one star, overall this is a great way to see a bit of the Netherlands countryside in a short time. I would love to go
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Response from HopOnHopOffHolland, Manager at Hop on Hop off Bus to Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam from Amsterdam
Responded 23 Sep. 2019
Dear Sand P, Thank you for your review! I'm very sorry to hear that the app wasn't working as it should be. We are trying our best to make the app run as smoothly as possible. However, I'm happy to hear that you liked Edam and we would love to welcome you again in one of our busses to visit Edam in the future. Kind Regards, Team Hop on Hop off Holland
Read more
Donald S wrote a review Sep. 2019
1 contribution
The hop on hop off bus allows the traveler to choose their own itinerary at the own pace. This one stops at several key areas that tour may want to spend more time than if you had gone with a tour group which is very regimented.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Response from HopOnHopOffHolland, Manager at Hop on Hop off Bus to Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam from Amsterdam
Responded 2 Sep. 2019
Dear Delirious35, Thank you very much for your kind review. Happy to hear you really enjoyed the things that we as a country got famous for and that you were able to discover everything at your own pace Kind regards, Team Hop on Hop off Holland
Read more
Sandra G wrote a review Sep. 2019
2 contributions
The little towns are really beautiful and definitely worth visiting. The problem and what make people annoyed is that buses are late or veeery late. I understand there might be traffic issues and that's why they made the App to check where are the buses and calculate arrival
Read more
Response from HopOnHopOffHolland, Manager at Hop on Hop off Bus to Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam from Amsterdam
Responded 2 Sep. 2019
Dear W3138FXsandrag, Thank you for your review and the feedback about our app, we always strive to make the locations of the busses as clear as possible on the app. we will definitely look into this. I am happy to hear that you still liked the villages that you were able to visit during the tour. Kind regards, Team Hop on Hop off Holland
Read more
Corrina T wrote a review Aug. 2019
1 contribution
Do plan to take the whole day to see everything on the tour at your leisure. Well worth it just for the windmills and cheese alone!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Response from HopOnHopOffHolland, Manager at Hop on Hop off Bus to Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam from Amsterdam
Responded 2 Sep. 2019
Dear Corrinat76, Happy to hear that you had a great time on our tour. Hopefully we will see you again in Holland! Kind regards, Team Hop on Hop off Holland
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 5–6 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Tripadvisor
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
USDUSD
Australia