Tours and Tickets

Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania provided by Sicilying

Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania

Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania
5
Book in advance
from
AU$74.24
per adult (price varies by group size)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
94% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Get to know the unique flavors of Sicily with a food tour
Duration:
3h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
15
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    3h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    15
  • Stroller accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Taste your way through the Sicilian city of Catania on a half-day street food tour. Set out on a walking tour that includes bustling markets, bakeries, and squares. Learn about the city’s history while passing landmarks like the cathedral. Sample regional specialties such as arancini and visit the fish market to try local cheeses, olives, and fried fish.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Italian, Spanish
Highlights
  • Explore Catania on foot to visit street food vendors and markets
  • Taste arancini, cheese, olives, and fried fish during a half-day tour
  • Go inside bakeries and markets between strolling by city landmarks
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Italian, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Explore Catania on foot to visit street food vendors and markets
  • Taste arancini, cheese, olives, and fried fish during a half-day tour
  • Go inside bakeries and markets between strolling by city landmarks
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 7736P2
Important information
Inclusions
  • Food tasting
  • Snacks
  • Professional guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Duration
3h
Departure details
  • Piazza del Duomo, 18, 95124 Catania CT, Italy
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • A minimum of 2 people are required per booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Inclusions
  • Food tasting
  • Snacks
  • Professional guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Piazza del Duomo, 18, 95124 Catania CT, Italy
Duration
3h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • A minimum of 2 people are required per booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Piazza del Duomo, 18
    Piazza del Duomo, 18, 95124 Catania CT, Italy
    See address & details
  • 1
    Piazza Duomo
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Via dei Crociferi
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Piazza Stesicoro
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Via Etnea
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 6
    Fera 'o Luni - Mercato di piazza Carlo Alberto
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
59 reviews
Excellent
52
Very good
4
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
2

Lawrence T
Leesburg, Virginia, United States51 contributions
May 2022
Sadly UA cancelled outbound flight so didn't make it. Was really impressed when Ana called me after my no show and offered condolences and even said she wouldn't charge me. You can bet I'll seek out Ana when I finally get to Catania.
Written 14 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Katherine
9 contributions
We met Selena our guide and one other guest on the main square. Serena then explained the history and led us for a short walk through the fish market. Our first stop was for a platter of typical local meat, cheese and olives. Each was delicious although we find the olives strong tasting for our palate. After another short walk we stopped for a cone of fried fish. This included prawn, sardine, squid and octopus. Each had been coated lightly in flour and breadcrumbs and we're very good and definitely fresh!
After a walk past some of Catania's beautiful Baroque buildings we stopped for Arancino and a savoury flaky pastry. A refreshing typical lemon drink was followed by a delicious granita. Serena was a great guide, full of interesting facts and looked after us well.
Written 21 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AndrewH-in-London
London, UK273 contributions
Apr. 2019 • Friends
This is a nice mix of tasting food and an introduction to the city. Our guide Ambra was lovely - in busier places like the fish market you just need to make sure you are close enough to hear the commentary. You get a little card showing you each stop - after completion you get a little stamp ! There were 6 stops in all and it was fun. We had to leave slightly early but talk to your guide, they may be able to arrange for some types of stops to allow you to visit later - it depends. I would say that the tour lasted for more than 3 hours so if you have arranged something straight after warn your guide in advance. The food tour is mornings only as they want to show you the fish/food market which closes by early afternoon. If you found this review helpful, appreciate a vote !
Written 1 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Dear, Thank you for having the time to share your experience and taking part to our tour! It was a real pleasure to meet you and let you discover our amazing tour and the wonder of our city! Hope to see you soon in Sicily to try together many other experiences! :)
Written 9 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

seetheworld504
New Orleans, LA26 contributions
Jun. 2019 • Family
We met our tour guide Ambra in the Piazza del Duomo. Then she guided us to food stops that included a little bit of everything - meats, cheeses, fried fish, granita, seltzer drinks, and other sweet & salty foods. We had the option to try the horse meat or the fried fish and decided on the fish from the fish market. You get to try everything that's typical in Catania. GO HUNGRY! There is so much food included.
During the food tour she also tells you about history of Catania. Then stamps a "passport" she provides you. Its a unique souvenir that helps you remember all the delicious food!
Ambra is an excellent tour guide! She is extremely knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. She even provided us with other restaurant and shop recommendations that we could go to later.
Written 14 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi my dear, Thank you for taking part to our tour and having the time to share your experience! It was a real pleasure to meet you and let you discover our amazing tour and the wonder of our city! Hope to see you soon in Sicily to try together many other experiences! :)
Written 17 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Las3263
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
Sep. 2019 • Couples
Utter rubbish. Do not waste your money! Small group was what we booked and there were 30. Completely disorganised and we had to wait at every stop for over 25 mins to receive our food. Anna the tour guide was rude and gave very little history on the tour and would not answer any questions. The trip was for 2.5 hours and it took us over 5. Three quarters of the group abandoned the tour after the third stop. Most of them were old and frail and simply couldn’t manage the walk... never mind the hanging around. The description of the tour needs to be reworded so as people understand, it’s not for frail or people with walking difficulties.
I have used Viator on many occasions around the world and never had a tour as bad as this. Viator you should be ashamed of yourself even offering this tour in the first place. The paper survey Anna asked us to complete at the end of the tour will probably not reach the office because of the ratings from everyone left on the tour.
I might also add Catania is a dump and very dirty city not the Sicily I know.
Written 4 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi dear, Thank you very much for your feedback. Indeed we are really sorry that you didn't enjoy the tour at its best! Unfortunately, on that day, we received a very last minute online booking of large group that we only notice at last time. Usually we do not manage so large groups and we prefer to divide participants in smaller groups with different guides, but this time due to this last minute booking, we had not enough time to find other guide immediately available. So, in order to do not start the tour later, we started the tour with one guide and then at third stop of the tour our second guide realize to reach the group and helped and follow the group as additional guide and try get the tour the most easier for everyone. We for sure do not work with rude guides and Anna is very friendly, professional and competent about the story of the city and she tried to get the group all together even when se was alone. The group that left the tour by a taxi had difficult in walking so they prefer to quit the tour as they where a bit tired. We are really sorry that you cannot enjoy the tour and the city anyway we hope you like the food tasted. Best Regards
Written 9 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dylan G
Athens, Greece9 contributions
May 2019 • Friends
An IMPECCABLE FOOD TOUR not only were we able to learn a lot but our taste buds were dancing all afternoon. We were warmly welcomed and treated to the delicious delicacies of Sicily all afternoon long. HIGHLY recommended. AMBRA THANK YOU!!!!!
Written 31 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Dear, Thank you for taking part to our tour and having the time to share your experience! It was a real pleasure to meet you and let you discover our amazing tour and the wonder of our city! Hope to see you soon in Sicily to try together many other experiences! :)
Written 3 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

RvC54
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands580 contributions
Mar. 2019 • Couples
Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable about both the food, and the history of Catania.
The walking tour took us through a large part of downtown Catania, and took us from great seafood, to typical Silcilian specialties like Arancini, Cannoli, Selz in different tastes and ice cream. No need to eat breakfast before the tour, as you get quite a nice amount of food. It is a great tour to do on your first or second day, as it will give you great insight in what to eat during your stay in Catania.
Written 13 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Dear, Thank you for having the time to share your experience and taking part to our tour! It was a real pleasure to meet you and let you discover our amazing tour and the wonder of our city! Hope to see you soon in Sicily to try together many other experiences!
Written 20 March 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kristen C.
Sacramento, CA11 contributions
Sep. 2019
This was a fantastic tour. Not only did we get to try different foods in different venues but we walked through different parts of the city as well. Anna took the time to tell us about different areas we were in and a little bit of history. We went through food markets and shopping districts. The food she had us try was common to these parts and all was very good. She was also very informative on any questions we had. This is one of my favorite tours we did.
Written 13 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Kristen, Thank you for taking part to our tour and having the time to share your experience! It was a real pleasure to meet you and let you discover our amazing tour and the wonder of our city! Hope to see you soon in Sicily to try together many other experiences! :)
Written 18 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dave P
Cambridge, UK41 contributions
May 2019
The two of us were met in the square with the elephant statue to discover we were having a personal tour. It was great being taken around, being told what it was like to live in the shadow of Mount Etna, all while enjoying some lovely food, including the best arancini we've had, and that includes a one I made a few years ago!
Lots of treats, including a local market, a tourist market, and finishing in the fishmarket with some fried fish. A very enjoyable experience.
Written 23 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi my dear, Thank you for taking part to our tour and having the time to share your experience! It was a real pleasure to meet you and let you discover our amazing tour and the wonder of our city! Hope to see you soon in Sicily to try together many other experiences! :)
Written 24 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Muriel F
3 contributions
Sep. 2019
Our guide was really friendly and very open, excited to share her knowledge on the every day life of Catanian people. The street food was well balanced : some fish, some wine, some cheese, narancio, granita, etc... I woud surely recommend not to eat breakfast before starting the tour ! We had a pleasant group composed of 7 people. I would surely recommend it !
Written 22 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi my dear, Thank you for taking part to our tour and having the time to share your experience! It was a real pleasure to meet you and let you discover our amazing tour and the wonder of our city! Hope to see you soon in Sicily to try together many other experiences! :)
Written 24 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 24
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Sicilying
718marietheresef
718marietheresef
00
An Amazing Experience
They boys were so helpful polite and friendly and made it an exceptional experience for us. From picking us up to t
Tour21623492626
Tour21623492626
00
Sicilian street food experienced in a unique way
A truly enjoyable and easygoing experience with our host Ambra. A tour of the known, and lesser known parts of the
W4832FQbrianh
W4832FQbrianh
00
Relaxing and appetizing late morning in Cefalu
I booked a street foods/local history and legends tour.... I spent the late morning walking around Cefalu with Ambr
Giorgia Z
Giorgia Z
00
Unreliable and thieves!
Please never choose this company!! They are true thiefs and no reliable at all. I have booked my experience (1 day
timschwarte
timschwarte
00
Wow!
This trip was amazing! The guides were very friendly and showed us the most beautifull places around Ribera in a tr
Antonio1954_9
Antonio1954_9
00
It is not a tour, it is an accelerated transfer.
From the first moment of starting the tour we saw that this was not a tour, it was a transfer to the cities. The pe
happy4343
happy4343
00
Food tasting tour
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and good. It was an interesting experience of food tasting with one
KjartanJoha
KjartanJoha
00
Great Steet Food tour
We very much enjoyed our Street Food Tour of Catania. My wife and I was the only two signed up and our guide, Anna,
Stephen C
Stephen C
00
Food Tour
The food tour was great. Our tour guide also gave us some great history on the city. She definitely made the tour
jansellskc
jansellskc
00
Highly recommend
Our guide Anna was exceptional. Not only did we learn so much about Catania, Anna was knowledgeable about Catania
HilaryTheDiver
HilaryTheDiver
00
Poor information
Booked a jeep and cable car package from Catania. The start point is 37km away from the centre of Catania. What
Mary Ann M
Mary Ann M
00
Interesting but sites could have been better
We rode the quad in Catania area, Sicily. Mt Etna was smoking at the time which was kind of cool. Because of this ,
Cindy D
Cindy D
00
Anna’s the bomb!
Anna led us on a delicious and informative tour of Catania. It was so much more than a food tour- Anna shared histo
716lisamariem
716lisamariem
00
Worthwhile activity
Hard to find and hard to get hold of staff who weren’t there for 20 mins when we arrived. Didn’t go faster than 30k
Jacob E
Jacob E
00
Food Tour in Catania
We met our Guide Anna in piezzza doumo. she was very welcoming and kind and we enjoyed her stories on catania hist
Frequently Asked Questions about Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania

Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania will start at 10:00 AM. Discover and book Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania on Tripadvisor


Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania price starts from AU$74.58. Discover and book Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania on Tripadvisor

Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania on Tripadvisor