Tours and Tickets

Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour provided by Avventure Bellissime

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour

Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour
4
Book in advance
from
AU$53.45
per adult (price varies by group size)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Experience Venice after dark on an evening walking tour
Duration:
1h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
20
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    1h 30m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    20
  • Near public transportation
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
The picturesque streets and canals of Venice harbor a dark history, filled with tales of ghosts, grisly murders, and haunted houses. On this tour, dare to explore Venice after nightfall, stroll the moonlit Calle dei Assassini, and see landmarks such as the Bovolo staircase and Rialto Bridge, as your guide brings the city’s myths and legends to life.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Hear spooky stories and terrifying tales about Venice from your guide
  • Views of the illuminated Rialto Bridge and Venice canals
  • See Venice without the crowds on an after-hours tour
What to expect
Meet your guide near the famous Rialto Bridge in central Venice and set out to explore the moonlit streets of Venice. As you stroll the eerie backstreets and canals, learn about the ghosts that haunt the city’s royal palaces, the ancient cemeteries that lie beneath the city streets, and the mythical creatures that reside in the Venetian canals. Stop to admire the distinctive Bovolo staircase, which look even more impressive by night, and hear gruesome stories about the butcher Biasio, infamous for mixing human remains into his sausages. Finally, venture down a secret passageway, guided by torches, and visit Calle dei Assassini (Assassin’s street) and learn how it became notorious for robberies, murders, and gangsters. Your tour ends back by the Rialto Bridge in central Venice.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Hear spooky stories and terrifying tales about Venice from your guide
  • Views of the illuminated Rialto Bridge and Venice canals
  • See Venice without the crowds on an after-hours tour
What to expect
Meet your guide near the famous Rialto Bridge in central Venice and set out to explore the moonlit streets of Venice. As you stroll the eerie backstreets and canals, learn about the ghosts that haunt the city’s royal palaces, the ancient cemeteries that lie beneath the city streets, and the mythical creatures that reside in the Venetian canals. Stop to admire the distinctive Bovolo staircase, which look even more impressive by night, and hear gruesome stories about the butcher Biasio, infamous for mixing human remains into his sausages. Finally, venture down a secret passageway, guided by torches, and visit Calle dei Assassini (Assassin’s street) and learn how it became notorious for robberies, murders, and gangsters. Your tour ends back by the Rialto Bridge in central Venice.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2635GW
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Small Group tour with max 20 people or fewer
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Duration
1h 30m
Departure details
  • Campo San Bortolomio, Campo S. Bortolomio, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy Campo San Bartolomeo near the statue in the middle of the square. The guide will be holding a sign with the name of the tour and the company name AVVENTURE BELLISSIME written on it. Are you delayed? Call immediately +39-3400502444
  • Splendid Venice - Starhotels Collezione, Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy The tour will finish nearby Hotel Splendid area
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. Please make sure to check your email prior departure.
  • During high water, the tour will take place, but it might happen we have to partly adapt the tour to the weather conditions.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Please wear comfortable footwear as this tour involves walking.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Inclusions
  • Professional English-speaking guide
  • Small Group tour with max 20 people or fewer
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Departure details
  • Campo San Bortolomio, Campo S. Bortolomio, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy Campo San Bartolomeo near the statue in the middle of the square. The guide will be holding a sign with the name of the tour and the company name AVVENTURE BELLISSIME written on it. Are you delayed? Call immediately +39-3400502444
  • Splendid Venice - Starhotels Collezione, Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy The tour will finish nearby Hotel Splendid area
Duration
1h 30m
Return details
  • Splendid Venice - Starhotels Collezione, Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy The tour will finish nearby Hotel Splendid area
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund. Please make sure to check your email prior departure.
  • During high water, the tour will take place, but it might happen we have to partly adapt the tour to the weather conditions.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Please wear comfortable footwear as this tour involves walking.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Campo San Bortolomio
    Campo S. Bortolomio, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy
    Campo San Bartolomeo near the statue in the middle of the square. The guide will be holding a sign with the name of the tour and the company name AVVENTURE BELLISSIME written on it. Are you delayed? Call immediately +39-3400502444
    See address & details
  • 1
    Ponte di Rialto
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Scala Contarini del Bovolo
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Riva del Carbon
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Rio Tera' dei Assassini
  • You'll end at
    Splendid Venice - Starhotels Collezione
    Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy
    The tour will finish nearby Hotel Splendid area
    See address & details
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
45 reviews
Excellent
21
Very good
10
Average
5
Poor
3
Terrible
6

Shell1202
Thomaston, CT23 contributions
Sep. 2019 • Family
We enjoyed this walking tour with our English speaking guide. She took us through narrow all that we would never had known were there. The tour guide was knowledgeable of happenings and stories of the past. Great, fun tour. I would recommend this tour while visiting Venice.
Written 11 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Client Thank you for your positive feedback about our Venice ghost and legends tour. I am very pleased the tour was informative and allowed you to explore the less known off the beaten track parts of Venice. I appreciate your recommendation and I hope you will join our tours again in the future! Kind regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written 12 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andrew T
Gloucester, UK4 contributions
Aug. 2019 • Family
Very enjoyable tour however not really suited to children/ young teens who got bored of the tour quite quickly as it’s more legends stories than ghostly. The tour guide was excellent, would recommend for couples/adults.
Written 1 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvvBell
Dear Client , Thank you for your feedback . I’m glad you’ve enjoyed our tour and our guide’s commentary . In regards to children and teenagers , I must say that it depends as not all teenagers or children get scared by ghost / legends stories . I’ve got myself a 12 yrs old daughter who attended to the tour with some of her school friends and they all liked it . Therefore I understand what you say , but it all depends on the children . Kind Regards Monica
Written 2 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17mdb1
Taunton, UK50 contributions
We had a great tour with Christina. Very spooky and well presented. I think it was her personal experience which really got to us, but several of us experienced a presence on this tour.

Very passionate and well researched.. Great tour guide.
Written 1 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Client, Thank you for your positive 5-star review of our Venice ghost and legends tour.We will certainly forward your comments to Cristina. Thank you for joining our tour! Kind regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written 2 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joyce M
13 contributions
Aug. 2019 • Friends
Went on this tour as they are usually good
This one was very boring the guide was nice but the stories were horrible quite gruesome in parts
It was good to see some of the places but i lost interest after the 1st 15 mins
Written 30 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvvBell
Dear Client , Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry you did not enjoy the tour . We’ve been operating this tour for quite a few years now and I must say that majority of people likes the stories featured . Of course I know that ghost tours in other countries , and especially in northern Europe, have different content mainly due to different traditions and many feature the visit to cemeteries and even underground passage-ways . In Venice these type of sites can not be featured and the stories featured are among the most interesting ones that can be found in this city . I understand some could be gruesome , but not more than the stories found in many ghost tours around the world . KInd Regards Monica
Written 30 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Erniem
1 contribution
Jul. 2019 • Family
The “TripAdvisor” booking website has a different meeting location (important information tab - see attached) then the details on the confirmation email aka voucher. I only saw the confirmation email and did not see the details box. We went to the location on the trip advisor booking web site. When meeting time was running late we tried to call the number from the TripAdvisor booking site but only got a recording in Italian. No one tried to call me as well to see if we were lost. Also later when I called to get a refund, they denied it. My suggestion to this company is change your info on the TripAdvisor website and be a little more customer focused. I believe that you were negligent in changing this information in a timely manner and unfortunately at my expense. I would NOT recommend them to any of my friends and family coming to Venice.
Written 9 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica368
Dear Client , Thank you for your message and I’m very sorry you missed your tour . All information that we have included in our tour page are correct and we’ve had the new meeting point for over 1 year now , therefore I do not understand where you have found this information . In the meantime I asked Tripadvisor to check all info that we can not edit ourselves . In the tour voucher there is an emergency number to call after office hours , probably you did not see it and called the office instead . It is our normal procedure however to wait 5 minutes after the start of the tour in case of no shows and if clients contact us to advise of a major delay , we are able up to a certain delay to direct her/ him to where the guide and the rest of the group is . Please contact us directly via our web site when and if returning to Venice , and I’ll try and make up for the great disappointment you had hoping in this way to regain your trust in Avventure Bellissime .
Written 10 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127cait
12 contributions
Jun. 2019 • Couples
The tour showed us some interesting parts of town and we learned a small amount of history, however there were only 3 ghost stories which were hard to follow in the whole tour. It was also a group of 40+ people which was ridiculous, I understand there was a computer misshap but another 8 people on the tour which meant people getting lost, difficulty following the guide and being cramped into small spaces to hear stories. I had done a few free tours already in Venice and these were much better than paying a fair bit of money for this.
Written 24 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Client , Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry you did not enjoy the evening tour . That day the group was exceptionally made of 32 people , instead of 25 people as advertised . In fact a party that was booked for the evening before , showed up . I'm sorry this caused an overall disappointment . As for the ghost and legends tour content , I understand ghosts tours in Venice and Italy in general are different from those you find in anglosaxon countries .During the tour , there is a mixture of Ghost , Legends and Anecdotes that have met the appreciation of many clients that have attended our tours in the last 15 years . I do not want to spend any word in regards to the last part of the comment , where there is a comparison between a company legally registered and a "free" tour organization , as this is not the right place where to comment about this . Kind Regards
Written 24 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Greennotcabbage
Bray, Ireland37 contributions
Oct. 2018 • Solo
It was an interesting tour and Christina was very engaging. Not the most spooky of ghost tours but I certainly learnt some new facts about Venice.
Written 23 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Client, Thank you for providing your feedback. We are pleased to read you are satisfied with tour contents and Cristina's explanation and charisma. The full name of the tour is Venice ghost and legends tour therefore its main aim is not to scare people. Consider that not all the countries are the same - ghost tours that run in for example Scotland are completely different than tours operated in Italy. Tours operated in Anglo-Saxon countries like UK or USA often concentrate on the scary part and include going underground at cemeteries or similar locations. Venice is a completely different reality and has a different story to tell - our tour includes the Hidden Venice - we explore the narrow alleys, small campi ( squares - some of them are built above old cemeteries), less touristy parts of Venice. We include several ghost legends like for example the tale of Marco Polo's wife. We understand that overall tour was an interesting experience for you and we hope you will tour with us again in the future. Kind regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written 24 October 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marsha M
Kinsale, Ireland14 contributions
Sep. 2018
Our guide was very sweet and I don't want to give her a poor rating because she tried to make it interesting, but this tour was not that interesting. It was actually boring.
Written 2 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

toddoballs132002
Charlotte, NC154 contributions
We booked this on our recent trip to Venice, having done a handful of ghost tours in the US. It was well reviewed and the description looked interesting. However it was nothing like other ghost tours we had done before. We were in a group of 15 people and it was essentially a walking history tour of 6-8 random places in the city. The guide we had (Italian man in his 50s or so) was horrible at telling stories and just recited facts of various things that happened in a stream if consciousness fashion. The stories were not scary or interesting and he did a poor job of describing them to us. We enjoyed the history tours we did during the day at Doge and St Marks but were hoping this would be something different and maybe somewhat scary, or at least to learn more about a different side of Venice. This was none of the above, a waste of money and time and definitely not as advertised. I’m not sure if we just had a crummy guide or all the tours are this way but I would find something else to do with your time rather than take the chance.
Written 18 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Client, We are sorry to read your expectations were not completely met. Our guide has been with our company almost since the begining ( 1999) - he is an experienced and knowlegdeable professional and according to our records was applauded by many participants on Saturday at the end of the tour. The full name of the tour is Venice ghost and legends tour. I don't know the details of your previous trips or what type of tours you attended in the past. Consider that not all the countries are the same - ghost tours that run in for example Scotland are completely different than tours operated in Italy. Tours operated in Anglo-Saxon countries like UK or USA often concentrate on the scary part and include going underground at cemeteries or similar locations. Venice is a completely different reality and has a different story to tell - our tour includes the Hidden Venice - we explore the narrow alleys, small campi ( squares - some of them are built above old cemeteries), less touristy parts of Venice. We include several ghost legends like for example the tale of Marco Polo's wife. Naturally since you are in Venice history is everywhere so our guides can hardly avoid mentioning some curious facts - most people are actually pretty interested in those, too. Our guides are aware of the tour itinerary and include all the stories advertised on the website. I presume you read our full tour description online, correct? Periodically we run checks on how our guides perform and we didn't see anything amiss about your guide's performance on tours. II understand you simply had different expectations likely based on your previous travel experiences in different countries. Best regards, Aleksandra Sales Dept
Written 18 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Barganax
Thatcham, UK131 contributions
A great way to see Venice by night. The Ghost bit was thin on the ground but the tour guide told great stories and pumped the atmosphere. We got to hustle down back streets and tiny alleys in almost total darkness, which was fun in itself. The meet up was well managed and easy.
Written 9 May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Client, thank you for your positive feedback. We are very happy to read you enjoyed our Venice ghost and legends tour. We look forward to welcoming you on our tours again in the future! Kind regards, Aleksandra/Sales Dept
Written 9 May 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 37
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Avventure Bellissime
rahambjion
rahambjion
00
One of the Best Tour!
It was a very wonderful tour!! Nikola our tour guide/driver was very informative. We stopped at various places with
mdm05j
mdm05j
00
Great Experience
We experienced the Best of Venice walking tour and the Doge’s Palace tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide, Mar
John J
John J
00
Semi-Private Tour of Italy
Working with Marianna Martin, our two couples enjoyed a marvelous eight day tour of Venice, Florence and Rome. The
Reifen_Catherine
Reifen_Catherine
00
Fantastic tour, very much worthwhile
We had a wonderful tour of the Doge’s Palace. Not only we didn’t have to queue, our guide Giorgia was so knowledgea
564jimmiev
564jimmiev
00
Dolomites Spring 2022
Very enjoyable day. I was a little worried about how to get to drop off point, but water taxi took us right there
C4979RCkarent
C4979RCkarent
00
Wonderful
Marco was a wonderful tour guide! He did a great job and gave our kids time to play in the snow. It’s a day we will
angiemartell1
angiemartell1
00
Wonderful Experience visiting the Mountains
Super informative guide. Made great recommendations for lunch. Took us to amazing sites fir great walking and pictu
Robyn578
Robyn578
00
A day in heaven
Have just returned from one of the most wonderful days I’ve enjoyed since I arrived in Venice. Venice is so beautif
Krista M
Krista M
00
Guide awful, Dolomites were beautiful.
The Dolomites were absolutely gorgeous! That part of the trip did not disappoint. Our guide Mossimo, was friendly e
Danandnan
Danandnan
00
Highly recommend this tour!
Cristina was an engaging tour guide! Best tour even with the cold and fog. She went out of her way to help us even
josephaK4847NY
josephaK4847NY
00
Private tour of Italy
My wife and I wanted to thank Marianna for putting together the most wonderful tour of your beautiful country. The
nginger
nginger
00
Outstanding experience!
Our group of 6 had a wonderful day excursion with Marco through the Dolomites.He was thoughtful, funny, and patient
kyleg14747
kyleg14747
00
Couple trip
Was an excellent day, the guide was funny, professional & informative. Full of information, & humor, and helpful in
Y4330HAcharlese
Y4330HAcharlese
00
Beautiful mountains with an Italian flare.
We really enjoyed the town of Cortina. We could’ve spent more time there. The driver was professional, kind, patien
Obengs24
Obengs24
00
Best of Venice
Highly recommend this tour! Aleksandra, the trip coordinator was fantastic, she was very accommodating and paired
Frequently Asked Questions about Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour


Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour price starts from AU$43.88. Discover and book Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour on Tripadvisor

Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour on Tripadvisor

Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour is hosted by Avventure Bellissime. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Avventure Bellissime on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Venice Ghost and Legends Walking Tour on Tripadvisor