Tours and Tickets
Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin
4.5

Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin

By Hilltoptreks
Recommended by 92% of travellers
92% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
Visit the highlights of County Wicklow, including Powerscourt Gardens, Glendalough, and Wicklow Mountains National Park, without the need to rent a car on this full-day tour from Dublin. Relax and enjoy the scenery, knowing that all the details and transportation are taken care of. Listen to commentary from your guide as you travel to the Guinness Estate and the Victorian village of Enniskerry.
from
AU$92.38
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 2-99, max of 16 per group
Duration: 8h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Comprehensive tour of County Wicklow landmarks and highlights
  • Plenty of independent exploration time—great for independent travelers
  • Commentary from a guide on the area's history, culture, and environment
  • Round-trip transportation from Dublin eliminates the need to rent a car

  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Local guide
What's not included
  • Entrance fees (Reduced rate €8, paid on entry)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Entry/Admission - Powerscourt House & Gardens
  • Entry/Admission - Enniskerry

Step aboard your tour vehicle in Dublin and relax immediately, knowing your day in County Wicklow has all been planned out for you. Enjoy the fact that instead of puzzling over directions and traffic, you can simply sit back and enjoy the scenery. The first stop is Powerscourt Gardens (own expense), where you have free time to explore the formal gardens and statuary on your own. Your guide is on hand to recommend the must-sees in the facility. Midday, stop in the Victorian village of Enniskerry for lunch (own expense) and some time to look around. Move on to the Wicklow Mountains National Park, to visit Sally Gap, the Guinness Estate, and Lough Tay. Listen to your guide's commentary on the historic and environmental importance of the park. Around midafternoon, reach Glendalough, a 6th-century monastic site, where you have time to explore independently before returning to Dublin.

Start:
  • Molly Malone Statue, Suffolk St, Dublin 2, D02 KX03, Ireland
    This statue is outside old stone church on Suffolk Street at 09:20am, Please be 10 minutes early
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Infant seats available
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 24779P1

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Pickup Location is the Molly Malone statue on Suffolk Street at 09:20am
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin?
    How much is Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin?
    Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin price starts from AU$92.48. Discover and book Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor
    What is the Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin cancellation policy?
    Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin?
    Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin is hosted by Hilltoptreks. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Hilltoptreks on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 24779P1

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Molly Malone Statue
      Suffolk St, Dublin 2, D02 KX03, Ireland
      This statue is outside old stone church on Suffolk Street at 09:20am, Please be 10 minutes early
      See address & details
    • 1
      Molly Malone Statue
      Stop: 5 minutes
      See details
    • 2
      Powerscourt House & Gardens
      Stop: 90 minutes - Admission excluded
      See details
    • 3
      Enniskerry Village Square
      Stop: 45 minutes - Admission excluded
      See details
    • 4
      Wicklow Mountains National Park
      Stop: 60 minutes
      See details
      Pass by
      Sally Gap
    • 5
      Old Military Road
      Stop: 10 minutes
      See details
    • 6
      Guinness Lake
      Stop: 15 minutes
      See details
    • 7
      Glendalough Monastic Settlement
      Stop: 90 minutes
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Hilltoptreks
      1,632
      Ireland
      Joined in August 2010
    • rominad766
      0 contributions
      Highly recommend
      Amazing trip, enjoyed every second of it. Our tourende was incredibly funny and shared the history without it being boring. The horses were amazing
      Written 17 February 2024
    • AlexanderFrankfurt
      0 contributions
      Very nice tour with a fantastic guide
      Great tour and one of the best guides we had. Very well organized, lots of information delivered in a nice and consumable manner. On the way to the sites and one the way back. Mary is a very nice person, which is always approachable and open for a chat - also for other topics. Fantastic English - our son 8th grade understood most of it (he is native German)
      Written 12 February 2024
    • Jeana S
      0 contributions
      Lovely Way to Spend our Anniversary
      We had an amazing time with our guide, Richard. Richard was able to share a good bit of history and fun facts either us on the tours. We really enjoyed the horseback riding through the country side and lunch in the small village. Seeing the bogs, lakes, church ruins and park were a person favorite and a nice change from Dublin’s quick life.
      Written 11 February 2024
    • Gerða V
      0 contributions
      Very good tour !
      Amazing to go horseback riding in the countryside! And the rest of the tour was great, amazing tour guide also! Thanks!❤️
      Written 5 February 2024
    • amydX6042DF
      0 contributions
      Beautiful Day Trip Near Dublin
      Our driver Kevin was very knowledgeable and had great commentary throughout the drive. We really enjoyed all the stops that we made along the trip. Beautiful scenery, some good walks/hikes/food stops. The horseback riding was great as well, lovely scenery and great horses. Lots of picture opportunities all around!
      Written 15 January 2024
    • jhb944
      0 contributions
      Only Newgrange worth seeing
      Only thing worth seeing was Newgrange. Disappointed in stop 2 & 3 No monestary a tall tower & cross in a cemetery. Boyne Battlefield again nothing to see here. Waste of time - visitor center closed. Looked at a rolling field with no information.
      Written 7 January 2024
    • kerriWato
      0 contributions
      Horse riding in Wicklow
      A great small group experience. Loved the horse riding and thoroughly enjoyed the tour guide. Linda was honest, open and relatable and made the experience awesome. She even gave us great music! One of my fave tours yet.
      Written 24 December 2023
    • Alicia G
      0 contributions
      5 out of 5
      It was a beautiful trip and our tour guide told wonderful Irish stories on the way and informed us about some Irish history. The horseback riding was a great adventure, had to learn how to ride the English way which took some getting use to. The weather was gorgeous, sun was out and the countryside was a beautiful sight to see. I highly recommend this tour if you want to get out of the city and see more of the countryside and small towns. We loved it!
      Written 20 December 2023
    • bddral
      0 contributions
      Take it from me!
      The best thing we did in Ireland! This tour is fantastic. You get to see some of the best natural scenery Ireland has to offer, and all within 8 hours. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and entertaining. I also really like a smaller group setting which allowed us to get to know the guide and fellow passengers better. Please don't miss Gelndalough upper lake!
      Written 26 November 2023
    • davidgY4126BM
      0 contributions
      Wicklow horseback riding
      Awesome experience! Kevin was a great tour guide, very funny and informative . My only recommendation is to clean the helmets, mine stank. Highly recommend, great tour.
      Written 19 November 2023
    • Q4909GLhannaho
      0 contributions
      Easy ride, great tour guide
      Great ride, super peaceful and beautiful in the trails. Horses knew the paths like the back of their hands! Our tour guide was Kevin and he was grand! Super knowledgeable on all of Ireland and had great wit. I was in such a hurry to get to my event that night i completely forgot to tip him I’m sorry! Whoever has him next tip him double he deserves it ◡̈ would love to see him again.
      Written 15 November 2023
    • C890YHmariam
      0 contributions
      Amazing experience
      Awesome for solo travelers. Cozy tour bus. Richard was our guide and he was brilliant, so friendly and very knowledgeable. Had jokes, too! I could tell he takes pride in his work, professional without being too serious. The horseback riding was fun. Would recommend bringing your own boots as the ones they provided were in less than great condition, most with holes in them. Also had to share riding helmets which makes sense for safety but was kinda gross as I thought about it. I’m not into sharing like that. The riding was beautiful, scenery great. The rest of the tour was awesome. I can’t say enough good things about it. I’ve already recommended it to a handful of people.
      Written 12 November 2023
    • Natasha J
      0 contributions
      Wonderful Experience
      Wonderful experience, the stable time and the interesting stories for our guide made the day pass so quickly. We were worn out by the end though!
      Written 10 November 2023
    • haleybR9543RG
      0 contributions
      Great time
      This was an amazing experience. I had the best time, and got to see some amazing views. I have very little riding experience and had no issues with this. 10/10 recommend.
      Written 6 November 2023
    • ashley s
      0 contributions
      Very cool
      A very nice and intimate tour. Bernie was very kind and had a lot of knowledge. He was also very funny and gave us some laughs. We enjoyed having him as a guide and enjoyed our day in Wicklow!
      Written 6 November 2023
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    250 reviews
    Excellent
    203
    Very good
    28
    Average
    11
    Poor
    4
    Terrible
    4

    Jannie L
    1 contribution
    Nov 2021 • Family
    We had an excellent trip and the guide Johnny did a great job, especially when he suddenly had 5 guests more than he expected.

    Despite rain and wind, the mood was high and Johnny made us laugh with his anecdotes and commentary.

    We would definitely recommend this tour!
    Written 7 November 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for the positive review, Johnny has been with us for quite a while now and is very resourceful even with last minute surprises...
    Written 10 November 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Donblu
    Brentwood, CA9 contributions
    Gillian is one of the best tour guides we have encountered in over 20 years of traveling. She has a warm personality. Her narrative of the countryside we were driving through added so much information to supplement the visual experience. The small group experience was appreciated. We met on time, left on time and returned as scheduled. Gillian was also an excellent driver. This tour is a great value compared to many travel tours. One last note: the owner of the tour company accommodated our request to schedule on a day other than reserved at the last minute. A truly great experience for those wanting to experience the Irish countryside
    Written 3 August 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for the excellent review. I will pass along your kind words to Gillian and it was a pleasure to assist you.
    Written 4 August 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Nyika A
    2 contributions
    Relaxing but fun filled day with Matt and HillTopTreks! My husband and I had already done a longer tour with another company to the Cliffs of Moher earlier in the week and weren’t interested in another 6 hour drive. We stumbled across HillTopTreks shorter, day trips and signed right up. The bus was easy to find and the group was a very small, manageable size. Only after about a 25 minute drive we reached our first destination, the beautiful Powercourt Estate and Gardens. We got some exercise walking briskly through the gardens and enjoyed looking at the various tree and flowers from all over the world. We love animals and thought the Pet Cemetery was especially neat and also fell in love with the romantic Japanese Garden. Next was a lunch stop at Poppies in Enniskerry, very cute tiny town. My husband and I shared a yummy Shepard’s Pie. Our tour guide Matt, drove us the back way through the mountains so we could really take in the scenery. The “P.S. I Love You Bridge” and Guinness Lake were spectacular. We appreciated Matt’s historical knowledge, story telling abilities and attention to detail. Last major stop was Monastic City in Glendalough where Matt walked us through the fascinating ancient ruins. Our return to Dublin was painless and we arrived a little before 5 pm! It was a perfect, stress free day exploring Ireland. Would highly recommend, thanks Matt!
    Written 12 August 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an excellent and extensive review.
    Written 14 August 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Ioanna T
    Athens, Greece44 contributions
    July 2022
    Of our 7 day visit to Dublin, this was our worst unfortunately. I will write everything as it happened, so you get an idea of our experience. Keep in mind I usually give 5 stars in my reviews.
    We arrived just 4 minutes late that morning, because it was raining throughout out 20+ minute walking to reach the destination. I received no phone call as it happens with all tours when you are late, so we thought it was fine. When we arrived, there was a hilltop treks on the spot and we entered it. This was apparently not our group exactly, as this bus was visiting the Powerscourt gardens, whereas we wanted to do the hike (this was the reason we booked with this tour). There was a nice tour guide on this bus, who accepted us and called the other tour guide who had left, and agreed we will all meet at Powerscourt.
    When we arrived, we went to the bus we belonged to, where we found Johnny the tour guide saying to a family who had also booked the hike that it is very muddy for the last 3 days, as he has been on the mountains for 3 days, and he doesn't recommend it. By the way at this point the weather was sunny and warm. He even said that my hiking books were not actually hiking boots (sorry Jack Wolfskin). When I asked him why they did not tell us earlier, as they had a phone call before we left Dublin, he said how could he know before hand that it would be muddy (completely cancelling his statement that he had seen it for the last 3 days). When I asked if we could do the riding, he said he can't make horses appear out of nowhere (fair, but if they had told us 3 days ago about the mud, we would have said we want the riding). He even said the mistake was ours because we were 4 minutes late in the morning. The other group gave in and agreed to see Powerscourt instead. I still wanted to do the hike, and he started yelling that he could still take us for the hike but it would be our problem if it was a complete swamp. As you can imagine, we were very disappointed at this point as the hike was the reason we joined the tour. In the end we agreed to do the gardens.
    The gardens were very boring, we walked the whole thing in 20 minutes. Johnny paid for our ticket, but the difference between what he paid and what we paid for the hike was still higher, and we never heard back for a refund. We did not know what to do to kill our time in Powerscourt. In the end, we saw he came back with the riding tour, so we were thinking all this happened because there was no tour guide available for the hike, so we felt even more cheated.
    Afterwards they left us in a small and very poor coffee shop (?) which was too expensive for what it offered (there was a huge fly on the food they were offering).
    Then we had the best time of the tour, which was seeing the bog (we went with the first tour guide again, who was very nice) and then we went to Glendalough, for which we had a very brief introduction outside the area. Thank God inside there was an archaeologist who told us and showed us interesting aspects of the site. We walked to the lake and back (we had to run our way back due to the ridiculously short time they gave us for this stop).
    All in all, we only liked hearing about the bog from this company. What a waste of time and money.
    Written 15 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your tour with us. We do everything we can to accommodate our guests and give them the best guided experience. This is very irregular. I wasn't there personally so I can not account for this particular situation, although this is the first I heard of it. I will ask the guides in question what happened so it doesn't again. Thank you for your feedback.
    Written 16 July 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Tashie C
    13 contributions
    Apr 2022 • Friends
    This trip was fantastic. Rob was an extremely knowledgable guide and had a great sense of humour! Would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to escape the city for a day for some country air and learning more Irish history. 10/10!
    Written 18 April 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an excellent review... I will let Rob the Viking know he has fans.
    Written 18 April 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Debon G
    5 contributions
    June 2022 • Family
    Powerscourt Japanese Gardens are amazing and Glendalough settlement is worth it. Matt went above and beyond sharing his wide knowledge of Ancient Ireland to bring background and connectivity to the places we visited. Well worth every penny.
    Written 3 June 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for the excellent review and I will pass along your kind words to Matt.
    Written 7 June 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Traveler2121
    New Orleans, LA119 contributions
    May 2022 • Solo
    The time spent at PowersCourt was really worth the trip. I would have appreciated a little more preparation for suggested routes to walk around the grounds in the time allotted. Unfortunately rain dampened the experience someone at Glendalough but I still enjoyed it greatly. Matt, the bus driver made the best of the situation and was a cheerful and practical presence throughout, with good information, and facts to enlighten the experience.

    I do wish there had been a policy for mandatory mask wearing on the small van. I wore a mask throughout, but two passengers coughed continuously and made me quite anxious. I was the only one wearing a mask…
    Written 10 May 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very very much for the very positive review. With the policy towards masks wearing, it is really up to each individual and impossible to enforce although we definitely do not discourage.
    Written 11 May 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Joanie C
    Oakville, Canada88 contributions
    Our guide, Matt, was pleasant and helpful, and went out of his way to look after us. The sites were lovely. My one complaint was the bus. We were 16 people jammed into a small bus. I was in the back row with 4 others. Limited view out the window, and squeezed shoulder to shoulder. It would go a long way to improving the experience if you limited the tour size to 13 people or got a bigger bus.
    Written 19 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for your feedback about your tour of Wicklow with us. We use smaller buses so we can drive into areas and along smaller roads in Wicklow. We will however take your views into consideration to improve our service.
    Written 20 July 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    haylestravel
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates5 contributions
    July 2021
    Current covid restrictions meant that we could not stop in Eiskenny for lunch and we had longer at Powerscourt to explore and eat. I thought it was too much time there and not enough time at Glendalough. We had 90 mins and it would have been nicer to spend more time there exploring some of the walking trails or taken a picnic.
    Written 25 July 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Hayley, Thank you for your feedback and I will pass along your message to our guides.
    Written 26 July 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Kim C
    2 contributions
    Sept 2022 • Friends
    This was a great tour. Our guide’s name was Matt and he knows so much about the history of Ireland. The Wicklow mountains are breathtaking. We were not in Ireland for very long so this tour was a great way to see sights we wanted to see in one day without having to do the driving. We also stopped for lunch in a quaint town and ate at a restaurant called Poppies which was very good.
    Written 21 September 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an excellent review
    Written 22 September 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 222

    Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin provided by Hilltoptreks