Inverness Tours
Loch Ness 1-Hour Cruise with Urquhart Castle Views
4.5

Loch Ness 1-Hour Cruise with Urquhart Castle Views

By Loch Ness by Jacobite
About
Loch Ness and the surrounding rolling hills and untamed landscapes are quintessential Scotland. On this sightseeing cruise, cross the Loch Ness waters to spot the medieval ruins of Urquhart Castle. Your boat offers both indoor and outdoor viewing space in case of bad weather, plus sonar system to look for Nessie—the loch’s famously shy resident.
from
AU$41.09
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 100 per group
Duration: 1h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Cruise out onto Loch Ness—one of Scotland’s most beautiful bodies of water
  • Sit indoors or outdoors on the viewing deck, depending on the weather
  • Watch out for sightings of Nessie—the Loch Ness Monster—via on-board sonar
  • Sweeping views over medieval Urquhart Castle and the surrounding hillsides 

  • 1-hour sightseeing cruise
  • Free Wi-Fi on board
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks (snacks available to purchase)
  • Gratuities

Choose the departure time to suit your schedule, and hop aboard your boat in Clansman Harbour—on the north shore of Loch Ness—to begin your sightseeing tour. With inside and open-deck viewing space on board, you can be warm and comfortable in any weather. Cruise out onto the open waters of Loch Ness and admire panoramic views over the dock to Urquhart Castle—the ruins of a medieval fortress—and the rolling hills beyond. Perhaps enjoy a drink or a snack from the bar (own expense), and capture the countryside views on camera. On your cruise, watch the waters and keep an eye on your boat’s sonar system for sightings of the mystical Loch Ness Monster—with high-tech gadgetry at your disposal, you might get lucky. After one hour on Loch Ness, disembark back at Clansman Harbour to end your cruise.

Start:
  • Loch Ness by Jacobite - Clansman Harbour, Clansman, Harbour, Inverness IV3 8AU, UK
    The Clansman Harbour is 9 miles out of Inverness down the A82. You will pass TWO Jacobite Cruises departure points, before reaching the Clansman Harbour. Park in the Hotel on your right-hand side. Follow the signs for walking down to the harbour. Please arrive 30 mins before.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Pushchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6570INS

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Approximately a 20 minute (10.4 miles) drive from Inverness
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6570INS

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
    Itinerary
    • Clansman, Harbour, Inverness IV3 8AU, UK
      The Clansman Harbour is 9 miles out of Inverness down the A82. You will pass TWO Jacobite Cruises departure points, before reaching the Clansman Harbour. Park in the Hotel on your right-hand side. Follow the signs for walking down to the harbour. Please arrive 30 mins before.
    • Pass by
      Urquhart Castle
    • 1
      All aboard and explore the mighty Loch Ness! As you depart on our catamaran sailing through the mysterious waters. You will be surrounded by stunning scenery and historical landmarks. Keep your eyes peeled for anything mysterious that may be lurking beneath!
      Pass by
      Loch Ness by Jacobite
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Loch Ness by Jacobite
      4,876
      Inverness, Scotland
      Joined in December 2008
    • amymV8614XA
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Best excursion we took on our trip!
      This was one of the best things we did on our trip to Ireland and Scotland. A really first-class experience. Tour departed on time and tour guide gave lots of interesting information. I took tons of pictures. We ate at the cafe on site after the trip and it was fabulous. An awesome array of desserts as well as hearty, tasty food, and dog friendly too. I think my biggest regret of the whole trip was that I didn't take more time in, or buy anything at, the gift shop. It was the classiest gift shop we saw on our trip. I looked it up online but there weren't as many offerings there as in the shop.
      Written 25 June 2024
    • L7153WEmichellem
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mysterious Lock Ness
      Fantastic trip, would highly recommend this 👌 2 hour informative cruise. Learning all about the Loch, Nessie and the area. It was on and off drizzly rain the day we went but it just added to the mystic of Lock Ness. Thank you to all the crew we had a marvellous cruise.
      Written 25 June 2024
    • ragnito
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Relaxing and informative cruise with a castle visit
      We took the 2 hour cruise that took us from the Clansman hotel harbour to Urquhart castle and back. We got to explore the castle for 45m and then hopped back on the boat. It was lovely to see and take photos of the vast vistas of the loch and surrounding nature. We had a nice sunny weather that made the bonnie waters glisten and welcoming. The boat is equipped with a small bar and toilets, there is an indoor area and second floor for outdoor sitting. We enjoyed just staying on the first floor in the bow of the ship. No Nessie this time!
      Written 24 June 2024
    • Trip659455
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Spectacular views!
      We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The commentary throughout was interesting and informative. The views were spectacular. Would be happy to recommend this trip.
      Written 23 June 2024
    • the-mog
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Did not see Nessie but a must do experience
      Fantastic trip to take if you are in the area. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Michelle who was very friendly and welcoming and the on board crew who were very friendly and also Peter who was very informative on local landmarks. There was a good selection of hot, cold and alcoholic drinks and snacks on board. Both upper and lower decks were spotless. The 2 hours was great value for money and just passed too quickly. At the location is a lovely shop and restaurant and ice cream shop and we visited them all. We also noted that the hop on and hop off bus stops at the facility.
      Written 23 June 2024
    • 569traceyb
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Brilliant Trip
      Beautiful scenery and great boat trip on Loch Ness. Our tour guide and bus driver Linda was brilliant, informative and fun. Would highly recommend.
      Written 23 June 2024
    • stacilee67
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Has anyone spotted Nessie?
      We had a great time on our tour. The weather was perfect and the scenery was beautiful, the information and history was interesting. We sort of had a Nessie spotting that was entertaining and everyone got pictures.
      Written 22 June 2024
    • G9021VApeterh
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Quite a boring activity
      Probably do this if you want to tick it off the list, it’s pretty boring to be honest. The cruise on Loch Ness is short and quite boring. You can do Urquhart Castle be road if you really want to. Anyway, we ticked it off the list.
      Written 22 June 2024
    • Inspire42220018917
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      No Nessie, but still lots to see!
      The opportunity to travel on Loch Ness and perhaps see Nessie was too good to pass up. Urquhart castle could be done at yur own pace and then the return by bus to Inverness taking the scenic route made a great learning experience. The commentary on the bus was most informative Christine
      Written 20 June 2024
    • nataliehowe185
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great option for a quick experience in Inverness
      All aspects of this tour were wonderful!! Our driver shared some interesting Scottish history and info as we made our way to the boat dock as well as back to Inverness. The cruise was a beautiful stroll through Loch Ness and the Caledonian Canal with a witty and fascinating narrative. We thoroughly enjoyed the views of Urquhart Castle and found the historical tidbits interesting. Overall, this was a great experience!
      Written 20 June 2024
    • B3587SOkfa
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Beautiful ride
      It was a really beautiful trip. It is hard to hear on the boat, but it is beautiful. A quick note: the address provided by Trip Advisor leads you to the incorrect location (nobody's fault; it's just not the address you need to use to locate the meeting point, I.E., the boat next to the parking lot and cafe). I'd make sure to download the instructions and a map of the area for the meeting location because you will lose signal. If you need directions to the meeting location, put in the address for the cafe, and that will take you to the right place.
      Written 19 June 2024
    • orion_TTown
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A good local perspective without the white-knuckle driving
      One of the most amazing things about our tour was our tour guide, and bus driver, Linda. If she could have changed the weather to sunshine, I think she would have. Can finally say we have boated on Loch Ness, albeit in drizzle, but the rain stopped in time for us to explore Urquhart Castle, which was well worth visiting. On the bus again for an educational tour back to Inverness, we learned a lot about the local area and enjoyed the insights. Having spent the past week driving stick on the “wrong” side of the road — a lot of it on one track roads — I am in awe of anyone who can drive a full-size bus in the Highlands. Kudos to Linda!
      Written 18 June 2024
    • Andrea F
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We saw Nessie (kind of)
      Did this cruise on the 13th July. There were 5 of us including a wheelchair user and we also had a dog with us. Brilliant staff on board, especially Peter our guide, who not only gave us lots of information about the area, also made sure my sister Haze, who was the wheelchair user, was ok and included. Definitely worth the money.
      Written 16 June 2024
    • Willtraveltoo2
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Avoid this excursion
      We’ve had some wonderful tours on this trip but this was not one of them. Avoid this excursion and book something else! Linda the driver arrived with barely any time before the tour started and the bus wouldn’t initially go into drive and she needed help to get it going (apparently this wasn’t her “usual” bus). We were late for the Lochness cruise and had to race for the boat. Urquhart castle was very interesting but when we returned to the bus we were told it was still not running well and the boarding door opposite the driver would not close. We were told that it would be 3 hrs if we had to wait for a new bus so Linda had passengers help her close and tie the door closed with plastic bags. The door had to be held the entire trip back by the two passengers sitting in the front seat, and it is amazing it didn’t fly open, and it was quite cold with the air coming in the door. Linda then took us on what she termed the “scenic route” which was much longer and not very scenic at all (basically a very winding wooded road) and somewhat nauseating. All the while, the bus made a high pitched noise since it was “malfunctioning” according to Linda. Also the microphone would not work and people at the back of the bus could not hear.
      Written 14 June 2024
    • LoveItalia018
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wonderful staff went above and beyond
      We took a class on a school trip today and the staff could not have been lovelier! The kids had such a great time, thankyou so much Ranald, Rachael, captain Gordon and Steven the guide (from memory apologies if wrong) from the heart, such a special day 😊🙏xx
      Written 13 June 2024
    See all 4,876 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles509 reviews
    Excellent
    328
    Very good
    109
    Average
    42
    Poor
    22
    Terrible
    8

    Saiqa
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2021 • Family
    I made a booking for 15 people for the 1st August for a boat 1 hour boat cruise at Loch Ness, Scotland for 11.00am.
    When we arrived at the location which states on your website at the point when I made the booking which states Loch Ness sightseeing cruise from clansman harbour. Once we arrived we were told a mini bus will come and pick us up and take us to the location shortly. We waited for the mini bus it arrived at 11, we showed them the website information we booked off from, they told us we in the wrong location we are literally 5min away.
    So when we arrived at the new location we were informed that the cruise had left and we had to contact you for a refund. As you can understand how frustrating and daunting this must have been with 7 children in the group being told they can't go on the cruise, as well as 8 adults. We tried to talk to staff their for a refund or let us go onto the next cruise,.but they said we have to contact you for a refund and make a new booking.
    We lost out on the first booking which cost in total £242, and had to make another booking on site to join another cruise later in the afternoon.
    Written 10 August 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    It sounds like this review is not for us, as we do not provide a mini bus to pick people up.
    Written 11 August 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Superhoop2808
    London, UK105 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020
    One of the higlights of our holiday. We took the 11am sailing, and sat at the front of the boat. Had great views, the boat was spotless and majority of the staff were excellent. The girl booking people on to the boat was very friendly and one young couple had inadvertently booked the wrong day and turned up two days late and still she let them on. Very refreshing and good customer service. The tour was very informative and in fact only the chap serving refreshments lacked any customer service skills.
    Back at the reception, the lady keeping the toilets clean and supervised did a superb job and deserves a pay rise. She kept those toilets cleaner than some hotels do. Highly recommend the whole trip
    Written 7 October 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    What a lovely review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed the trip with us. The Contemplation is a very popular tour and gives a wonderful perspective of the Loch and the surrounding area. Carol is our lovely lady who looks after all the cleaning at An Talla, we agree she does a superb job. Thanks for recommending us, we hope you'll come back and see us again.
    Written 13 October 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Davidjellis
    Lowestoft, UK9,208 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2021
    My wife and I did the 1 hour return cruise from Clansman Harbour down to Urquhart Castle and back as part of a cruise ship excursion. We had a great time, although the weather wasn't the best, cool and cloudy, but at least it stayed dry.
    Because of the uncertain weather conditions my wife sat in the downstairs indoor part of the boat and I decided to risk it and sit up top...which was definitely a good move on my part. I thought it would be safer (COVID-wise) to sit on the open deck in the fresh air, but also I thought the views and photos would be better not shooting through glass. It was an interesting tour and the commentary was very good. I was lucky to have sat close to one of the speakers and could hear the full description of the history of the Loch, the water speed record which took place there, and of course Nessie.
    I understand that indoors there was an area where you could see the sonar picture to look for things moving under the water (fish, prehistoric monsters and the like) but I decided to keep my seat on top and just enjoy the views.
    I thoroughly enjoyed the 1-hour cruise, although my wife said it was just OK as the views weren't so good downstairs and she couldn't hear the commentary over the noise from other passengers.
    My suggestion if you are thinking about doing this cruise is to get there well ahead of your cruise time so you have a better choice of seat, sit on top if the weather is kind and sit close to the speakers...and just hope it stays dry. We didn't spot Nessie (apart from the large model one at the Clansman) but it was a great way to see the Loch.
    Written 22 September 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted to welcome you on board our Loch Ness by Jacobite cruise and hope you had a wonderful time seeing the sights of Loch Ness. Thank you for sailing with Loch Ness by Jacobite, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
    Written 21 June 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Trip799311
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Having done a similar cruise on Loch Lomnd in the last few days this cruise was very disappointing. The commentary was very difficult to hear. The cruise was almost double the price and a shorter trip than the Loch Lomond cruise. Not worth the money
    Written 27 August 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are dissapointed that you did not enjoy your cruise. We hope you did enjoy seeing the sights. Thank you for sailing with us.
    Written 13 June 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Lisa S
    Indianapolis, IN118 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2022
    We booked the 50-minute cruise that travels from the harbour to Urquhart Castle and back. Almost everyone on the boat booked the longer cruise, but the only difference was they exited the boat at the castle and toured it until the next cruise came back to pick them up. So if you’ve been to Drumnadrochit and seen the castle already, then all you need is the 50-minute cruise to say you’ve taken the boat on Loch Ness to search for Nessie. That’s all we needed and so the short cruise was perfect for our busy schedule.
    Written 26 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for sailing with Loch Ness by Jacobite. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back on board a Loch Ness by Jacobite cruise sometime in the future!
    Written 29 November 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    June B
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2022
    We took the 50 minute/1 hour cruise on a really lovely sunny although slightly breezy day, in early May. We booked online and this is probably a must in high season if you want to guarantee being able to make the trip and/or have a dog as we did. We enjoyed great views of Urquhart Castle and the running commentary about the history of the locale was really interesting. Jacobite Cruises run a really slick operation and the staff are all friendly, helpful and full of information. The Clansman (which is next to where we embarked) has a smart restaurant which also does take way coffee/ hot drinks and delicious cakes. All in all - highly recommended.
    Written 8 May 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Many thanks for your great review!
    Written 18 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    SAMANTHA-JANE LANGLAIS
    16 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2023
    Absolutely brilliant 2.5hrs spent cruising up Lochness and learning all the myths, legends and facts about the Loch and the surrounding areas. Bit chilly as we got to cruising speed, but that doesn’t detract. The weather was fabulous, photo opportunities abound. Great facilities on board too with friendly and knowledgeable staff makes for a great trip. Even on land the wee shop was well stocked with the usual Nessie merchandise and the ice cream was delicious albeit a wee tad expensive, but all tourist places are tbh. Don’t miss doing this whilst in the area!
    Written 13 May 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thanks very much for your 5* review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your cruise with us and appreciated the guided narration. Our crew really enjoy what they do and it's lovely to hear that you do too! Our good friends at Miele's Galateria provide the award-winning ice cream close by, and we agree - it's delicious! We hope to welcome you back on board when you're next in the area.
    Written 17 May 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Tapio R
    Helsinki, Finland11 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2022
    We did the Temptation-tour. It was a two hour trip from Inverness bus station, and quite well arranged. The cruise on Loch Ness was about 30 minutes before arriving to Urquhart castle. There was plenty of time to explore Urquhart Castle before the bus headed back. On the way back, the bus took a small detour to show the countryside.

    The bus driver tried to explain some sights while driving, but for the most part it did not feel very interesting. The pre-recorded audio that played on the cruise was top notch though.

    Main reason for my poor rating is that it's really expensive for what you get.
    Written 14 April 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    carolwyse
    Falkirk, UK36 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020
    Excellent trip and everything was so well organised and safe in current situation.
    The views of the loch and surrounding area were stunning : and the weather was kind to us, which made it even more enjoyable on the open deck.
    A trip not to be missed.
    Written 8 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We agree the view of the Loch and surrounding areas are simply stunning, but of course everything is so much nicer in the sunshine.
    Written 13 October 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    RnK136
    Wigan, UK9 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    July 2023
    Really enjoyable. Very well organised. Perfect amount of time both on board and at the castle. We were staying at The Clansman hotel so it was really convenient to board there. I pre-booked on the website and that was very easy to do with QR-code tickets given. I would recommend pre-booking as all the cruises I saw leaving from the harbour during our stay were full. It is busy.
    Written 9 July 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your glowing 5-star review! We are delighted you enjoyed your Loch Ness by Jacobite experience. Thank you for sailing with us, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
    Written 10 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 472

    Loch Ness 1-Hour Cruise with Urquhart Castle Views provided by Loch Ness by Jacobite

    All Inverness HotelsInverness Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Inverness
    All things to do in Inverness
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars