Tours and Tickets

8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh provided by Highland Experience Tours

8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh

8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh
4.5
Book in advance
from
AU$2,415.73
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 7 days in advance
About
This tour takes you to the West coast, through the Highlands over to Skye and then up to the Orkney Isles with incredible driver-guides and comfortable panoramic windowed mini-buses and midi-coaches. Enjoy a ride on the Jacobite Steam Train, visit Loch Lomond and the Trossachs and The Cairngorms National Parks, Loch Ness, Culloden, Glen Coe, Eilean Donan Castle, Skara Brae, Maes Howe, the Ring of Brodgar and other landmarks of Scotland's rich history.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8 days
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8 days
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5256P29
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • 7 nights accommodation as per selected
  • Ferry to Orkney
  • Departures will include Loch Ness Cruise and Urquhart Castle.
  • Entry/Admission - Pentland Ferries
  • Entry/Admission - Pentland Ferries
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Eilean Donan Castle
  • Entry/Admission - Loch Ness
  • Entry/Admission - Urquhart Castle
  • Entry/Admission - The Italian Chapel
  • Entry/Admission - Skara Brae
  • Entry/Admission - Mainland
  • Entry/Admission - Culloden Battlefield
Duration
8 days
Departure details
  • Highland Experience Tours, Royal Mile, 1 Parliament Square, Edinburgh EH1 1RE, UK Caffe Nero
Additional information
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Departures 18th May - Aug 24 will include the Jacobite Steam Train All other departure will include Loch Ness Cruise and Urquhart Castle instead.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Children under 3 years not accepted
  • Luggage Restrictions: Maximum weight: 15kg. Maximum size: 55cm x 40cm x 20cm per person plus small carry on
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travellers
Inclusions
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • Breakfast
  • 7 nights accommodation as per selected
  • Ferry to Orkney
  • Departures will include Loch Ness Cruise and Urquhart Castle.
  • Entry/Admission - Pentland Ferries
  • Entry/Admission - Pentland Ferries
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Eilean Donan Castle
  • Entry/Admission - Loch Ness
  • Entry/Admission - Urquhart Castle
  • Entry/Admission - The Italian Chapel
  • Entry/Admission - Skara Brae
  • Entry/Admission - Mainland
  • Entry/Admission - Culloden Battlefield
Departure details
  • Highland Experience Tours, Royal Mile, 1 Parliament Square, Edinburgh EH1 1RE, UK Caffe Nero
Duration
8 days
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Departures 18th May - Aug 24 will include the Jacobite Steam Train All other departure will include Loch Ness Cruise and Urquhart Castle instead.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Children under 3 years not accepted
  • Luggage Restrictions: Maximum weight: 15kg. Maximum size: 55cm x 40cm x 20cm per person plus small carry on
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
Overview
Full Map
19 stops
Day 1
The start of a wonderful adventure
Day 2
Over the Sea to Skye
Day 3
Exploring Skye
Day 4
Back to the mainland
Day 5
Another island awaits
Day 6
Exploring Orkney
Day 7
Retracing our steps
Day 8
Back to the start
+

4.5
6 reviews
Excellent
4
Very good
1
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Khoa
Fort Worth, TX12 contributions
Book tour in July 2020
Is there any way to add the Callanish standing Stones and fairy pool and fairy glen to tour.

Very good tour
Written 2 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Savvytravellers201
Newcastle, Australia1 contribution
Thank you Steven A-wesome!! Skye and northern Isles August 6th- 12th.
Aug. 2019
Great trip, fabulous B&Bs, great company and one amazing tour guide. Thank you Steven A for the introduction to your beautiful country and interesting history...will return.
Kim & Dani
Written 24 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Graham S
2 contributions
Great Trip
Aug. 2019
Extremely well organised with excellent guides (Daniel & Steven). Great selection of locations to visit with a nice bunch of fellow guests (Small group tour). Accommodation (Hotel option) was mixed. Some absolutely brilliant hotels overnight - Loch Ness & Kirkwall 5 stars. Others not so impressive. Inverness 1 star. This did not impact overly on the enjoyment of the tour which was informative and fun.

Never been to Scotland before so this was the ideal opportunity to see some of the key attractions and stunning scenery. Highlights were Culloden & Loch Ness. We also managed to see the Highland Games at Portree which was a real bonus

Orkney was less impressive. The scenery is no where as magnificent as the highlands.

Overall a great trip and ranked excellent despite the mixed bag of accomodation.
Written 13 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

orlaalicia
London, UK12 contributions
Great tour, terrible customer service.
Sep. 2018 • Friends
Excellent tour, covering a lot of ground in a relatively short space of time. Great driving by the guides. All the must-sees included - absolutely stunning country. Brought to life with history and the guide's stories of myths and magic. Neil was a particularly excellent guide - extremely knowledgeable, great fun and very courteous; he looked after the group very well. Fergie (on the Orkney leg) was also very knowledgeable.

Unfortunately this part of the trip was ruined for us by a shocking experience on Orkney. We were thrown out of our guest house through no fault of our own. For details see the link below. Though Fergie and colleagues back in Edinburgh did a good job of swiftly arranging alternative accommodation for us, for which we were very grateful, we received no apology and, two weeks after returning from the trip, we still haven't, despite having a conversation in person at the office on our return to Edinburgh. Very poor customer service after an upsetting experience. I was hoping to give these details in private but since I've heard nothing from Highland Experience, public forum it is. Such a shame because it has put a dampener on what was otherwise a great trip.

Polrudden review, see "We were thrown out by a rude bully. Avoid!": https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g190780-d218136-Reviews-Polrudden_Guest_House-Kirkwall_Mainland_Orkney_Islands_Scotland.html
Written 1 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your tour, we appreciate all feedback we receive as it allows us to continue to improve. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time on tour with both Neil and Fergie. Once staff were made aware of your accommodation issue in Kirkwall, they quickly contacted the management team to seek a resolution and were able to re-organise your accommodation for the 2 nights in Kirkwall.The staff member who spoke to you on the evening did apologise, as did the staff member who you spoke to in person in the office. As the matter was resolved and two apologies had been given, and no further feedback was received from yourself, this issue was considered as closed. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in this. If you wish to contact us directly via email, we would be more than happy to re-open this issue and respond as per our formal feedback procedure. Kind regards, Erin
Written 24 October 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kim A
3 contributions
7 day tour
Aug. 2018
Very well done tour. We had Stephen for the first leg of the trip, he had lots of interesting folk tales about places we passed along our drive. Mark was our guide for the last part of the tour, he was very good at historical facts. Both of the guides were very entertaining, helpful and also excellent drivers. Highly recommended
Written 4 September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

nchamperz
Victoria, Canada1 contribution
7 Day Highland Experience Review
May 2018 • Solo
This was my first trip with Highland Experience and I was impressed overall. I did the 7 Day Tour, picked the Bed and Breakfast option, and opted for the small bus choice.

The first odd thing I found was when I checked in in Edinburgh I was instructed to wait at the sign that said Bus #4. I did but was alarmed that the sign said 5 Day Tour when I had booked a 7 Day Tour. I checked in again and was told that there was a 5 day and 7 day option. I found it odd that the sign didn’t say 5 day option or 7 day option. Highland Experience also didn’t have any workers outside to guide everyone around as the lines for each bus got tangled and disorganized. My bus was late and we were not told when it would arrive. It did however and we were on our way!
The second problem I had was that my guide didn’t introduce us to each other so I didn’t even learn the names of everyone on my bus.

The main issue was accommodation. There had been some staff turnover that resulted in accommodation not being booked in October 2017 for the May 2018 tours. This meant my tour as well as the two other Highland tours doing the 5 and 7 day tours were spread all over the little towns. This made it difficult to meet up with new friends when we were 45 minutes apart from each other.
I have been told by the owners of the Bed and Breakfasts I stayed at and by the guides of Highland Experience that these problems are being fixed and are less likely to happen in the following years.
Most of the accommodation was very nice! Lovely owners of the Bed and Breakfasts and nice, clean and private rooms. The one major issue I feel needs to be changed is that when I was in Skye for two nights I was in a lovely room near Castle Moil. Unfortunately, part of my room was open and not sealed by a wall. It was an odd shaped room, with a curved section that only had slates and a curtain to cover it. This made my uncomfortable as a man not from my tour was staying in the room across from me and the rooms were very close together. I felt that Highland Experience should have taken more care to put me, a solo female traveller in a more secure Bed and Breakfast. My first night in Skye I heard the same man arguing with the lovely owner of the Bed and Breakfast. It was unnerving and I feared for her wellbeing.

The most disappointing part was how crowded each monument, beach or stop on the trip was. While I was on a small bus with 16 people maximum when we arrived at any destination the other two Highland Experience tours would arrive at the same time. This meant there could be 50 or more people trying to experience and take photos of the same things. There were also other tour busses, which could make things quite crowded. This meant that eating at restaurants had long wait times once we had all been dropped off to our accommodation for the night and you had to plan everything to try to avoid the crowds!

The only part, which everyone was confused about, was why we were put on a bus for 5 days and then several of us were moved onto a different bus with the people continuing on the Orkney Isles for the 6th and 7th days. There were 3 busses that started and only two continued up to the Orkney Isles yet the groups got all mixed up which split up some newfound friends.

HOWEVER, even with all these issues I was extremely happy with my guides along the way. They were extremely knowledgeable, told great stories to make you forget the longer drives we had to take some days, and were always super friendly and helpful.

The people I met along the way were amazing! Everyone got to know each other and we would meet up for drinks or dinner at the end of most days.

The small bus I was one was comfortable and had usb plugs. Most of the them worked but they should repair the broken ones as soon as possible!

Lastly, Scotland is a truly beautiful country which had so much to see! I barely skimmed the surface with this tour but it really compressed a lot of hard to see places into one well worth it tour.

I would highly recommend this tour as I do believe that many of the problems I have mentioned will be fixed by next May 2018.

The only one I would urge them to change is that they shouldn’t have 3 busses leave on the same day if they changed the start date to a day later the tour would miss a lot of other tour busses, would have more space to see things and most importantly would increase the profit of the small towns who house and feed all the tourists as they have to turn many tourists away as there are too many for one evening service at the restaurants, cafes, etc.
Written 21 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Highland Experience Tours
Susan R
Susan R
00
Outstanding tour
Kelly, our driver, was not only informative but hilarious as well. I felt as if she were a friend. We had plenty o
joselorenzocarreon07
joselorenzocarreon07
00
Lochness
The tour was amazing and with such lovely breataking sites to see. Kelly our tour guide was brilliant, loved how sh
RustedAngel69
RustedAngel69
00
Beautiful but long day
Was a long day, but didn't feel it thanks to John who kept the stories and information coming and the views we saw
Pathfinder522883
Pathfinder522883
00
A must do in Scotland
Visiting Edinburgh for four days and pre booked this trip. So glad I did, was a wonderful experience. Stops are w
MPA50
MPA50
00
Beautiful but unbearable
The places we visit are nice and the driver did his best to entertain. However the trip takes too long, i's unbeara
J699KYgeorgel
J699KYgeorgel
00
It's been amaizing
We had a great time, seeing amaizing places and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to see a bit of Scotland
WimB77
WimB77
00
The best tour ever!
Urquhart castle was the highlight of our trip + the Great stories from our guide Queen Kelly and the cheesy jokes :
577cvt
577cvt
00
Guide is knowledgeable story teller while driving. Destination was awesome, made friends along the way
Kelly the guide was awesome. She is very knowledgeable and can drive while telling a story at the same time. The to
lindseybV7542GW
lindseybV7542GW
00
Amazing experience
I absolutely loved every second of it! Kelly was funny, knowledgeable and made each highlight of the trip memorable
cmbrown13
cmbrown13
00
Great tour
This tour was good. Out tour guide Jon was funny, knowledgeable and a joy to have with us. The bus was cozy which w
Wicker1421
Wicker1421
00
Incredible experience through the highlands!
Absolutely loved the trip! Our tour guide, John, was so funny and had a story for every part of the journey, one ex
Janrose85
Janrose85
00
Best experience!
We had the best experience in this tour. High 5 to our very accommodating, relaxed and informative tour guide Graha
stephene739
stephene739
00
Lady Linda arrives at Glencoe.
Our tour guide was Queen Kelly. We had her for 2 days as we also did the Stirley Castle ,Rosslyn Chapel tour also.
Odyssud
Odyssud
00
Allygend
I did the 12 hour tour through the Highlands with our amazing tour guide Ally. First off, let me just preface that
kellogskelly
kellogskelly
00
Absolutely brilliant
1st time we have taken any trip from Edinburgh and what an amazing experience, fantastic tour guide with great know
Frequently Asked Questions about 8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh

8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh will start at 8:30 AM. Discover and book 8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor


8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh price starts from AU$2,366.23. Discover and book 8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor

8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh cancellation policy: If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. Discover and book 8-Day Orkney Skye and Highlands Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor