We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
None
Share
Save

Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Highlights
  • Get oriented in Edinburgh on a historical walking tour ideal for first-time visitors 
  • Save hours waiting in line with a skip-the-line ticket for Edinburgh Castle
  • Witness a guide inject life and humor into the history of Edinburgh 
More
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle
From USD 39.81
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
10am DepartureMost Popular
Tour departs at 10am
USD 39.81
1pm departure
Tour departs at 1pm
USD 39.81
Overview
There’s no better way to orient yourself in Edinburgh than on a historical walking tour—especially one that includes skip-the-line entry to Edinburgh Castle. Get acquainted with the city’s fascinating history on a walking tour of the UNESCO-listed Old Town, whose cobbled streets and narrow alleys lend themselves well to wandering. Then, save up to three hours waiting in line with a skip-the-line ticket to Edinburgh Castle. Ideal for first-time visitors, this guided tour provides a great introduction to top Edinburgh attractions.
What to Expect

This Edinburgh historical tour begins at a designated meeting point in Edinburgh’s Old Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Following a route filled with medieval cobbled streets and alleys, learn about dramatic historical events and tick off Royal Mile monuments such as St. Giles Cathedral, the Mercat Cross, and Canongate Kirk.

Continue to Castle Hill to enjoy panoramic vistas of Edinburgh before gliding past long lines outside of Edinburgh Castle with your skip-the-line admission ticket. Inside, embark on a guided tour that covers the Royal Palace, Stone of Destiny, and the Honours of Scotland.

Bid farewell to your guide at the castle.

Reviews (372)
1 - 5 of 111 reviews
Reviewed today
Have Been on Better Tours

Whist it was a fairly small group the guide Emma managed to navigate the Royal Mile without giving half the information I received on my last visit to Edinburgh with a different group of friends. The presentation was on the dramatic side. This was one...More

Thank BusybeeSussex
Reviewed yesterday
Good tour but timing is too close to Castle closing time.

Had a good, informative tour by a dedicated and experienced guide ( Eva) but the star time left insufficient time to fully experience the Castle at the end. Should start sooner. Castle closes at 5:00 PM pronto.

Thank Jon R
Reviewed yesterday
Disappointing--Not Enough Information

The good news--the two guides did seem to be knowledgeable. However, this was very scripted and only gave a very cursory overview of Edinburgh's history. We walked by a huge church with no explanation, etc. Our group of 3 learned a bit but not nearly...More

1  Thank N4277UHaliceb
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience as much as we would have liked. I'm surprised you found the tour scripted as we don't use scripts at all. I don't know which tour you joined but we do have themes to suit...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Perfect

Eva, our tourguide gave us a wonderfull tour through the old city/royal mile. So many stories, what a history this town has. I really recommend this tour to anyone.

Thank martijnkanis
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We couldn't hope for more than perfect - thanks Martijnkanis. All the best, Jean

Reviewed 4 days ago
Eva was amazing!

We had a wonderful tour with the best guide -- Eva! Despite the pouring rain, she made the tour extremely enjoyable. Extremely knowledgeable and personable and funny -- we really loved every minute. I want to go back and another one!

Thank Grace R
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Please do come back & see us again! This is a fab review, we're very happy you joined is on that rainy day :) All the best, Jean

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ellie A
19 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from randyd667 | Reviewed this property |
The Crown Jewels are here as well as The Stone of Destiny!
1
Vote
hbrumbach
8 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Velimir M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you can.
0
Votes
Poo123
22 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Jennifer M | Reviewed this property |
I think our guided tour prior to the Castle was an hour and a half - maybe two hours? And then we got an overview of the castle and could stay afterwards on our own.
0
Votes