We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise

Select Date and Travellers
From
USD 46.47
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Travel independently to the Thames River departure pier in central London, and be shown on to your comfortable sightseeing cruiser.Take a seat at one of the smart, white linen-clothed tables in the indoor cabin, and admire the views of London’s riverbank sights as your boat follows a round-trip route along the Thames.

    Watch the landmarks unfold through the panoramic windows, or take a stroll on deck to capture them on camera. Cruise by majestic Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament; enjoy awesome views of the Tower of London and dome of St Paul’s Cathedral; and glide by other top London attractions including the London Eye, The Shard and the cone-shaped skyscraper known as the 'Gherkin.’

    Along the way, enjoy the lilting background music courtesy of the resident pianist, and savor a classic English afternoon tea. Sip on freshly brewed teas and coffee, and dig into an assortment of freshly prepared finger sandwiches and cakes, as well as scones served with Cornish clotted cream and strawberry preserves. See the Itinerary for a sample menu.

    Your cruise ends when your boat docks at the original starting pier.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Bateaux London, Victoria Embankment, London WC2N 6NU, UK
    Duration
    1h 15m
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Afternoon tea with a selection of sandwiches, cakes, scones and teas and coffees
    • Live entertainment from a pianist
    • Entry/Admission - Thames River
    Exclusions
    • On-board commentary
    • Gratuities
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Seat allocation is according to your booking
    • Dress code is smart casual
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    140Reviews7Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 24
    • 8
    • 8
    • 15
    • 20
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Booked this as a treat for visiting family as it sounded a little different to a normal afternoon tea with a view. Although the boat setting was super and the Thames views were as wonderful as ever, the service and the food quality were poor compared to similar priced afternoon
    Read more
    Response from GRBateauxLondon, Guest Relations Manager at London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise
    Responded 3 days ago
    Dear joa401 We're so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea experience. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with the relevant teams for their review. Should you wish to discuss your visit in more detail, please email us on feedback@bateauxlondon.com. We do hope you reconsider and give us another chance to welcome you back for a more enjoyable sailing. Kind regards Alexandra Kallai Guest Relations Manager
    Read more
    The cruise was fine. There was lovely live piano music & the food was very nice. I guess I’d hoped for a guided tour. I’m glad we did it but wouldn’t do it again. It was a bit pricey.
    Read more
    Response from GRBateauxLondon, Guest Relations Manager at London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise
    Responded 1 week ago
    Dear SusieKansasCity Thank you for taking time ans sharing your feedback about your recent experience. I'm glad to hear that you did like our meal and the live entertainment that much. I hope you reconsider and give us another chance to sail with us at some point in the future. Should you wish to return , please get in touch with me on alexandra.kallai@bateauxlondon.com. Kindest regards, Alexandra Kallai Guest Relations Manager
    Read more
    After not being able to attend the Thames Cruise afternoon tea experience (bearing in mind this was an expense of £92!) I was absolutely astonished that the restaurant was unable to reschedule for another time. I exampled this was due to a family incident which they explained I
    Read more
    Response from GRBateauxLondon, Manager at London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Dear Georgia B It's disappointing to know you feel this way and we're really sorry that you had a family incident that disrupted your plans. We aren't a traditional restaurant operation and catered and reserved a table for your party. Our cancellation policy is clear and communicated at booking stage. We respect your views but believe it's unfair that you think we should absorb the loss of a no show. Whilst we weren't able to reschedule your reservation, we offered you a special discount that we hope you use at some point in the future. Kind regards Alexandra Kallai Guest Relations Manager
    Read more
    The tea we received did not resemble any pictures used to advertise this excursion. The cake selection was a throw back to the 70s Mr Kipling range. Sandwiches were reasonable except for the fish paste trying to imitate salmon. Two small scones and a tiny amount of cream and
    Read more
    Response from GRBateauxLondon, Guest Relations Manager at London Thames River Afternoon Tea Cruise
    Responded 4 weeks ago
    Dear Richard B We're sorry to receive your feedback about your recent Bateaux London sailing. It's disappointing to know about your experience that we only got to hear about it on TripAdvisor. We regret you didn't make us of any issue whilst you were on board as we would have done something about it and made it right for you. I hope you reconsider and give us another chance in the near future. Kind regards, Alexandra Kallai Guest Relations Manager
    Read more
    I have had many happy times on Bateaux London. Special nights made even better by great music, fantastic dancing and good service. I tried the afternoon tea cruise. I wish I hadn't. Dreadful, inedible sandwiches (the waitress didn't know what was in them and we couldn't tell
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: