Tours and Tickets

Aqua Donut Private Boat provided by Octopus Sailing Charters

Aqua Donut Private Boat
4.5
Book in advance
from
AU$284.76
per group (up to 2)
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
About
Floating the Sea in An Aqua Donut Boat with Octopus Aruba! ONE OF THE MOST POPULAR AND UNIQUE ATTRACTIONS. Our Aqua Donut is designed to meet the special requirements of hire without a boat licence. Aqua Donut isn’t spongy and fluffy like its edible counterpart. This one’s made of high-end fibre glass so it can seamlessly glide over water. • Jump into the water or laze around under the sun umbrella on the boat • Cheaper than most other activities • See Aruba from the water while gliding along in a Aqua Donut Boat • Order your favorite drinks and snacks in advance • Provides a fantastic outing for groups, couples of friends and family • Very special and affordable • Easy to operate with a stable ride • Attention-getting round design can seat up to 10 people
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2-5 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Dutch, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2-5 hours
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English, Dutch, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 47607P6
Call 0061 (87) 2285 255
Important information
Inclusions
  • Bottled water
  • Private tour
  • A full-featured waterproof portable Bluetooth speaker with surprisingly powerful sound
  • Safety Life Jackets
  • Cool box with ice
  • Use of Snorkelling equipment
  • Octopus souvenir
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Captain
Duration
2–5 hours
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Your tour departs from the Octopus Aruba beach hut, unless a pickup location is selected. Our beach hut is located on Palm Beach behind the Holiday Inn. Once you reach the Holiday Inn Hotel, walk through the lobby towards the beach. Make a left on the footpath and you will see us on your right.
  • Octopus Aruba Sailing, Snorkeling, Sunset & Private Tours, J.E. Irausquin Blvd 87, suitenummer 227, Palm Beach, Aruba, Noord, Aruba Your tour departs from the Octopus Aruba beach hut, unless a pickup location is selected. Our beach hut is located on Palm Beach behind the Holiday Inn. Once you reach the Holiday Inn Hotel, walk through the lobby towards the beach. Make a left on the footpath and you will see us on your right.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Near public transportation
  • We offer free pick-up for all hotels listed (high rise hotels), if your hotel is not listed, we offer pick-up and drop-off service for $5 per person round trip.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Bring a towel, sun cream and sunglasses
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Inclusions
  • Bottled water
  • Private tour
  • A full-featured waterproof portable Bluetooth speaker with surprisingly powerful sound
  • Safety Life Jackets
  • Cool box with ice
  • Use of Snorkelling equipment
  • Octopus souvenir
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Captain
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Your tour departs from the Octopus Aruba beach hut, unless a pickup location is selected. Our beach hut is located on Palm Beach behind the Holiday Inn. Once you reach the Holiday Inn Hotel, walk through the lobby towards the beach. Make a left on the footpath and you will see us on your right.
  • Octopus Aruba Sailing, Snorkeling, Sunset & Private Tours, J.E. Irausquin Blvd 87, suitenummer 227, Palm Beach, Aruba, Noord, Aruba Your tour departs from the Octopus Aruba beach hut, unless a pickup location is selected. Our beach hut is located on Palm Beach behind the Holiday Inn. Once you reach the Holiday Inn Hotel, walk through the lobby towards the beach. Make a left on the footpath and you will see us on your right.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
2–5 hours
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Near public transportation
  • We offer free pick-up for all hotels listed (high rise hotels), if your hotel is not listed, we offer pick-up and drop-off service for $5 per person round trip.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Bring a towel, sun cream and sunglasses
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 2 Jul. 2020
A note from Aqua Donut Private Boat
Our team members will be receiving instructions and guidelines on COVID-19. We are approved for the Health code by the Aruba Tourism Authority. Our team is more than ready to assist you when you are here. We can’t wait to welcome you!
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Octopus Aruba Sailing, Snorkeling, Sunset & Private Tours
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • Pass by
    Palm Beach
    Malmok Beach
    Boca Cataavlina
    Arashi Beach
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

4.5
55 reviews
Excellent
49
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
3

jscormier88
Boston, MA1 contribution
Took great care of us!
Dec. 2021
They were great. Lead us the way to a snorkeling area and kept an eye on us on the way back. There’s a cooler for beers on the boat!
Written 7 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amanda W.
1 contribution
Terrible Experience, waste of money
Nov. 2021 • Family
Let me start this by saying I NEVER leave bad reviews. We, however, were so incredibly disappointed by this experience that I felt I needed to save the next person from making the same mistake. This is quite possibly the worst experience we have ever paid for on vacation. The boat was late by 10-15 minutes. The directions to the snorkeling area were NOT clear, very vague. The top speed of the boat is 3mph. We could have swam there faster. The seats were terribly uncomfortable. Snorkeling spot was easily accessible from shore, nothing special. Don’t make the mistake we did. Save yourself $300 dollars and take a walk along the beach instead. The only positive aspect of our experience was that the staff were friendly.
Written 18 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you did not have a great time with the Aqua Donuts. Our description states that it is a recreational boat and not a fast boat. The Aqua Donut boats are the only boats that you can drive yourself without a boating license, because of the low speed. The reason my colleague was late was because another boat had drifted too far and he had to help them. Safety is our top priority and always comes first. This was passed on to you by my other colleague in the beach hut. When my colleague arrived he wanted to explain a few things to you but you indicated that you had experience with sailing and you wanted no further instructions. We are very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience and we think that your expectations were different from what it actually was. As you can read in several reviews, our guests generally have a great time on the Aqua Donut boats! Thanks again for writing this review and maybe we can welcome you on one of our other trips.
Written 24 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mike G
Denver, CO10 contributions
Lots of fun!
Nov. 2021
I own a sail boat and a powerboat but since I've never seen a Doughnut Boat, I had to try one! They can literally make 360 spins in place! They are like the Disney Tea Cup ride on water! We motored north about a mile to go snorkeling. Easy to set and retrieve anchor and the outboard started easily when it was time to leave. When we returned the boat to the beach someone on a nearby dock was taking a video of us so I did a couple of spins for them. The were excited for the show and gave me a thumbs up. Two hours was just enough so maybe consider 3 hours so you don't have to rush.

The only that could use improvement is the umbrella canopy. The dockhand fixed a couple of clips (holding the edge of the umbrella to the ribs) but they quickly came lose again. Once a couple clips come out then a couple more come out. The flopping umbrella cuts down on your shade and it's noisy. Seems like an easy fix and I didn't like having to stop a couple times to fix it. Fix the umbrella issue and I'd give them a solid 5 stars.
Written 5 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review It's great that you enjoyed the Aquadonut as it was meant to be, it is a great way to enjoy the Caribbean Sea. And to read in your review you did that. Everything is possible with or without a captain, you can bring your own drink or we make sure you can enjoy it the way you want. Regarding your comment on the umbrella. We are aware of you have described. At the moment we are working on a solution to give an even better experience. We hope to welcome you again at an Aquadonut or on the Octopus!
Written 26 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dianspirit
Fontana, CA5 contributions
Not worth the money
Oct. 2021
This was way over priced. We paid almost $250 to ride in a boat from the hotel down to the end of the street and back. It was very boring.
Written 1 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Dian, Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure that every passenger has an unforgettable time and we therefore regret receiving a bad review. We therefore would like to respond to your review. We are very sad you did not experience the Aqua Donut Rental experience as many guest do. As you are controlling the donut boat all by yourself, you are in charge of where to go. From the hotel area you can go all the way to the north coast. In this area you can find many treasures. From 5 beautiful snorkeling spots to beautiful views on the coastline. As this activity is private, you are surrounded by familiar people with who you can make this trip as fun as you want. And because there is no crew on board to entertain you, it is important that you make your own party on board. We are sad you did experienced this trip as boring since there are a lot fun things about this rental. Hopefully you will experience this activity as it supposed to be in the future. Kind regards, Team Octopus
Written 1 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Angela R
2 contributions
Jose and Hans saved the day
Aug. 2021 • Friends
Leaving a 5 star because of the hosts Jose and Hans - they took care of us. The actual boat rescheduled an hour and half before we were supposed to leave. When we arrived they did not show up with the correct amount of alcohol or any of the food we ordered. Was a fun time and idea but disappointed in the company organization.
Written 1 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you had a less pleasant experience regarding the organization. Normally the additional food/drinks you booked online or through our office are on board. As we understand this did not happened for your trip, We offer you our sincere apologies for this. We will certainly discuss this with our crew. We are happy to hear that you had a great time with Jose and Hans despite this. We are looking forward to your next trip!
Written 18 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stephen Wissman
1 contribution
Donut boat Aruba
Had a great time got to snorkel and drive the boat. JOSE did a great job today and had a blast with him as our guide. Definitely recommend u do it
Written 29 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your adventure on our Aqua Donut boat! The whole concept of our Aqua Donuts is to give our guests a completely private adventure with snorkeling/sun and fun! We hope that we can welcome you again in the near future!
Written 21 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mike L
2 contributions
Great Day on Octopus Donut
Jul. 2021 • Family
Snorkeling and cruising around at our own pace was awesome. Jose is an excellent guide and very helpful.
Written 24 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your adventure on our Aqua Donut boat! The whole concept of our Aqua Donuts is to give our guests a completely private adventure with snorkeling/sun and fun! We hope that we can welcome you on the Octopus again in the near future! :)
Written 22 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Donna S
1 contribution
Will do this again!
Jul. 2021 • Couples
Wonderful! We had a great time snorkeling and relaxing on our floating island! Equipment was great and the beer was cold! José entertained on the way there with magic tricks! He was a fantastic host!
Written 19 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us ! If we are being completely honest, our other crew members have given up on figuring out Jose's secrets! He is truly a magician! We are looking forward to welcoming you on the Octopus again in the near future :)
Written 25 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TriGuy7285M
Chapel Hill, NC4 contributions
A highlight of our trip
Our family had a blast and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip! We got to motor around at our leisure stopping to snorkel and jump off I the ocean. Kids ranged from 6-17 and everything was perfect. Jose (our magical guide) did a great job checking up on us throughout our 5 hour trip, and man it flew by! He told us right where to go to make the sights more memorable and we even saw a sea turtle!

Go, have fun on one happy island!
Written 10 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba is a beautiful island with lots of fun things to do. That's why we're really honored to hear that your trip with us was one of the highlights of your vacation. I will pass on your compliments to Jose. Seeing a sea turtle sure is a memorable moment. Not everybody is lucky enough to spot one when they visit Aruba, so luck is on your side! We would love to welcome you once more if you plan to visit Aruba again!
Written 16 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kim
1 contribution
Stranded at Sea
Jun. 2021
My father booked this experience for our first family vacation since COVID and was really excited to do the donut boat rental. We did a two hour rental for the ten person donut boat for $400, and our group consisted of six adults and one young child.
Our original rental time was supposed to be 10:00 AM-12:00 PM, but just before 10:00 AM the company pushed our rental back to 11:00 AM (not a huge deal for us, as we were flexible with time but would have been an issue if we had other things booked for the day).
First of all, the donut boat did not come with ANYTHING that was promised to us from the website and rental agreement. We did NOT get a bluetooth speaker, any maps or information about snorkeling locations (we were told by the employee about how to get to one location but that was it, and it consisted of just being pointed in the direction of the site), an adequate amount of snorkeling gear/life vests (we asked for enough for all of us and were given five sets of gear and five life vests), or a "live" radio to use to communicate with the staff in case we needed anything (this will be relevant information for later). We did get some ice for our drinks but it was brought to us after we had been out on the water for about a half an hour already.
About one hour into our rental, the engine of our donut boat stopped working. My husband and father attempted to get the engine back up and running but were unable to do so. We did not have any way to call or communicate with the staff that we were having engine problems, and the boat began to drift out into the ocean. We called the octopus rental company phone number and spoke with a woman and let her know that our donut boat was no longer working and that we needed help. She did not seem very concerned but told us that she would let someone know to come help us. After about ten minutes of waiting and no help coming in sight, we called the same phone number again and asked again for someone to come help us. At that point, we had drifted considerably far off shore and we were starting to panic. Again, the person we spoke to on the phone didn't seem concerned but said they would pass along our need for help.
About five minutes after the second phone call, we finally saw the employee who helped us with our rental coming out on a boat to us. When he got there, he said that our boat GPS had alerted him that we had strayed too far from the beach and that he was coming to check on us (so seemingly the people we spoke to on the phone from the octopus company never passed along our message that we were in trouble and needed help). The employee tried to get our engine up and running again but was not able to, and had to tow us back to shore (which took about thirty to forty minutes). During the tow back, the employee asked us if we wanted to stop anywhere and snorkel again, to which we said no because we just wanted to be back on the shore at that point (this is relevant information for later).
Half of our rental was spent with either a dead engine or being towed back to the beach. After we were back on land, the employee apologized for our experience but did not offer anything beyond that. My father then contacted the octopus rental company and told them about our experience and asked for a refund. He was initially told no and the person speaking to him even said that our engine had not been broken down for as long as we had said (???) and that we had been given the option to do extra snorkeling but had declined (again this happened as we were being towed back to shore). My father again asked for some sort of refund/compensation and was offered a 20% refund of the DEPOSIT, which would be about $20 (off of a $400 total rental). My father, upset at the whole experience, continued asking for more as we felt that we were entitled to at least half of our money back but he was treated very poorly by the representatives, who fought him back at every negotiation. Eventually, the company offered us a total $80 refund and two catamaran tickets for a future excursion. Feeling like that was the best he could get, my father accepted the refund.
Two weeks later, the money still had not been refunded to my father's account. He contacted them again to inquire about where the refund was and the person he spoke to claimed that they had "no record" of any employee having a conversation with him about his experience or a refund and would not give him the promised refund. My father then went to his credit card company and submitted a dispute for the claim, as he saw that would probably be the only way to get his money back. He contacted the octopus rental company and told them that he had passed this whole thing on to his credit card company and would now be declining the charges that he had paid for the rental, and, amazingly, almost instantly he saw that the octopus company had refunded the $80 into his account.
At this point, we are just letting the credit card company handle it. Overall the experience was terrible, we were not given anything that was promised with the rental (as stated on the website and in the promo videos), and we literally spent half of our rental with no controllable boat and either floating out to sea or being towed back to shore.
Rent a donut boat from this company at your own risk.
Written 25 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. You have also sent your story by email. We have responded to you in this email. During our email contact we found a suitable solution and solved it to your satisfaction.
Written 27 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 53
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Octopus Sailing Charters
DonavanL
DonavanL
00
Great time and way to watch the sunset!
Friendly crew, good food and drinks, good service, comfortable, and a magnificent sunset. Make sure and wear flip f
BeeDavis2013
BeeDavis2013
00
Spectacular Birthday Brunch!
I booked a private brunch for my husband's birthday and we had the BEST day! Geo was our boat driver and he made th
jmansourati
jmansourati
00
Bday Celebration Private Charter
We booked the Octopus Catamaran for a 4 hour private charter for 11 adults to celebrate a 40th bday in Aruba. The e
Ang000
Ang000
00
our fam loved the sunset cruise so much we booked for next morning on snorkeling cruise.thx to Roger,Ray,Martin, Axel,Al
Our family loved the sunset sail so much we booked snorkeling for the next morning, too. Beautiful memories made!
LadyVamp58
LadyVamp58
00
Sensational Sunset Cruise
We were so impressed with the crew, food and drinks. We will definitely do this again next year. We would like to
stephf0130
stephf0130
00
A Fun Morning!
This was my first time snorkeling & it did not disappoint! It POURED the morning of our tour but even that didn't r
Tstubbs334
Tstubbs334
00
Great time
Had a great time this is a must they sure you are having fun the entire time! Drinks,snacks, everything on point.
charlesgS8932LV
charlesgS8932LV
00
40th Birthday Trip
We had a group of 14 people to celebrate my Wife’s 40th Birthday. The experience was amazing. The food and drinks w
mochileirosdeluxo
mochileirosdeluxo
00
Fantastic trip!
The Half-Day Aruba Special Champagne Brunch Cruise is your best choice to a Catamaram Trip in Aruba.
ina202
ina202
00
best private tour
I booked this private tour for my husband birthday and we had an incredible time . It was an amazing 3 stops with l
yvianamartinez
yvianamartinez
00
Great Sailing experience
It was a great experience. The staff was friendly, informative, and fun. Also, I enjoyed the food they provided. Tw
clarepurkis
clarepurkis
00
Highly recommended
Amazing staff. Great morning cruise. Would recommend this to anyone who likes snorkeling. The boat was clean and no
Michelle L
Michelle L
00
Amazing time!
Gio was wonderful. He was interesting, and knowledgable, and made our trip super fun. He was attentive and great a
Zoe1982
Zoe1982
00
Sailing the day away at this amazing catamaran.
This trip was absolutely amazing. The snorkeling stops at the shipwreck was the best! We saw how big the ship was a
kkandrews7
kkandrews7
00
Another awesome sunset cruise
This was our second sunset cruise with Octopus and it was great! The staff is super nice, drinks and food good, an
Frequently Asked Questions about Aqua Donut Private Boat

Aqua Donut Private Boat price starts from AU$280.59. Discover and book Aqua Donut Private Boat on Tripadvisor

Aqua Donut Private Boat cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Aqua Donut Private Boat on Tripadvisor

Aqua Donut Private Boat is hosted by Octopus Sailing Charters. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Octopus Sailing Charters on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Aqua Donut Private Boat on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 2h. Discover and book Aqua Donut Private Boat on Tripadvisor