Tours and Tickets

Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites provided by Thistle Excursions - Invergordon Bus or Coach Tours

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites

Save
Share
Recommended by 100% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
AU$175.71
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Our tour is based on a quality experience from feedback from our customers in 2019. We are a new company who aim to please and our guides will offer you local knowledge and answer all your questions. This tour is provided in a luxury 4 seater car (BMW or Lexus) or a luxury 8 seater minvan (Tourneo or Mercedes). You are guaranteed the personal touch from our friendly and expert guides. If you are a German guest we can sometimes provide you with a German-speaking guide, but usually our tour is in English.
Itinerary
  • You’ll have 2 starting options
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Urquhart Castle
    Stop: 100 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Loch Ness
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Inverness
    Stop: 100 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Culloden Viaduct
  • 4
    Clava Cairns
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Beauly Priory
  • 5
    Culloden Battlefield
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • You'll end at
    See Important Information for details
+
Important Information
Departure Point
Shore Road, Shore Rd, Invergordon IV18, UK Saltburn, Invergordon IV18 0JP, UK
Duration
6–8 hours
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Bottled water
  • Parking Fees
  • Entry/Admission - Urquhart Castle
Exclusions
  • Snacks
  • Entry/Admission - Culloden Battlefield
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
8Reviews
1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Daniela Bolte wrote a review Jun. 2020
1 contribution
We had planned to do Tour 3 with Thistle during our cruise. Unfortunately, our cruise was cancelled yesterday due to corona virus. Maxine is great and has already transferred our money in less than 24 hours back. We'll be back in 2021 or 2022? :-)
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites
Responded 19 Jun. 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you another year. You’ll live the magic and history of the Highlands x
Read more
Cyrille F wrote a review Apr. 2020
1 contribution
Quick communication,nice contactand really professionnal. I would like to do another trip with them as soon as possible.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites
Responded 30 Apr. 2020
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you.
Read more
domino115 wrote a review Apr. 2020
London, Canada19 contributions
We were scheduled to go on a shore excursion to Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle in late May however our cruise was cancelled. We wrote to the company requesting a refund due to circumstances beyond everyone's control on late Friday and on Sunday we had an email from Maxine that
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites
Responded 27 Apr. 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review ya. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you another year. Take care.
Read more
Adrienne C wrote a review Apr. 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
We had arranged a private "Outlander" shore excursion for our May 2020 cruise, which unfortunately was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic. When I reached out to Thistle Tours to cancel, Maxine responded immediately - at 9:00 p.m. on a Sunday night (!!!) to advise that a
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites
Responded 17 Apr. 2020
Thank you for taking the time to thank us. We really appreciate it and try to assist any time, day or night. Stay safe. Look
Read more
Autolysej wrote a review Apr. 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada25 contributions11 helpful votes
We had to cancel this trip because of CoVid 19. Thistle Tours refunded our payment immediately and with a lovely note expressing concern for our continued health. This was especially important since another tour company we had booked in another city refused to refund our
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites
Responded 13 Apr. 2020
Thank you for your honest review. We would never keep anyone’s money if they cannot make the trip. We do hope to see you in 2022 or after. Take care c
Read more
12
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Thistle Excursions - Invergordon Bus or Coach Tours
14clubs
00
Great company
We were very disappointed to cancel this tour when our cruise was cancelled but were EXTREMELY pleased when we were
Read more
colbe3
00
Excellent Company
Very quick communication. Excellent service when we needed to cancel. We will definitely use Thistle Excursions whe
Read more
D504TUpriscillas
00
Excellent customer service in a difficult time
In this pandemic we unfortunately had to cancel. I was quite pleased with the quick response and personalized note
Read more
Chrysala
00
Cancelled - Tour operator very kind and understanding
As our cruise had been cancelled we had to cancel the tour as well. We got an immediate response and refund. We can
Read more
JordanK1432
00
Thistle was a life savor during COVID!
Unfortunately, I could not do Tour 1 with the Dunrobin Fairy Tale castle, but boy did I want to! I had to cancel si
Read more
586farinam
00
Very friendly and professional organisation of tour plus handling during pandemic
I had lots of E-Mail contact with the owner of Thistle Excursions to plan a personal trip. Maxine was very helpful
Read more
BearberryBill
00
Cancelled - Tour Operator Communicative and Understanding
We had planned on going on a cruise that would have taken us to Invergordon, Scotland this upcoming summer but canc
Read more
mlclark49
00
Exceptional service with cancellation
We had booked what Maxine called a Bespoke Tour!! The itinerary was taylored to our individual needs. We were so
Read more
Alfred T
00
"Uncommon Dedication"
Due to cancellation of our cruise to the British Isles scheduled at the end of May 2020, I reached out to Maxine Sm
Read more
sailaway157
00
Thistle Excursions' Commitment to Providing Customers with Excellent Experiences
Thistle Excursions' owner/operator was extremely responsive and helpful in providing the details that we needed wh
Read more
nkp221
00
cancellation
Maxine responded immediately to confirm our cancellation and refund. We will definitely book with her company agai
Read more
Christopher R
00
The Novel Coronavirus Caused Cancellation of Our Tour
We were excited about touring the Invergordon area. Unfortunately, our June cruise was cancelled and we were able
Read more
kjupdike
00
Prompt reply
Our cruise was canceled in May Due to the pandemic. I reached out to Thistle Excursions to cancel and refund our ex
Read more
bh7248
00
Superior Customer Service
We had to cancel this excursion, due to the Covid19. This company had NO problem refunding our money. When we do b
Read more
lin0801
00
Great customer service
Ditto on excellent customer service for COVid cancellation. We will definitely rebook when we can travel
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 6–8 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, French, German, Italian
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:0061 (87) 2285 255
Frequently Asked Questions about Tour 3 - Urquhart Castle, Culloden, Loch Ness, Inverness, incl. Outlander sites