Tours and Tickets
Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour
4.5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour

By Pioneer Adventures Whitsundays
About
from
AU$89.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-100, max of 36 per group
Duration: 1h 10m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • FREE Pick up from selected hotels
  • 70 Minute guided Glass Bottom Boat Discovery Tour
  • Funny and informative commentary about the reef
  • Fully shaded vessel
  • All safety equipment
  • Restroom on board
What's not included
  • Parking Fees


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • Shute Harbour Marine Terminal, Shute Harbour QLD 4802, Australia
    If your meeting there please arrive to Shute harbor marina terminal 15 mins prior to departure time.
Pickup details
  • PICK UPS START 45 MINS PRIOR TO DEPARTURE PLEASE SEE BELOW FOR PICK UP TIMES: Big 4 adventure Whitsundays Cannonvale 45mins before departure Mantra Club croc 40mins before departure Base backpackers 30mins before departure Airlie beach Hotel bus stop across road (coconut grove bus stop) 30mins before departure Port of Airlie Ferry Terminal 25mins before departure Club Wyndham resort 25mins before departure Whitsunday vista / Blue horizon resort 25mins before departure Tasman Holiday Parks 20mins before departure Discovery park 20mins before departure Big 4 Tropical Eco resort 20mins before departure
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Near public transportation
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 25676P5

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
      • Please read carefully to confirm pick up location and times
      • Passengers must be fit and able to board / Disembark unaided.
      • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
      • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travellers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      Which attractions will I visit with Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour?
      During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour on Tripadvisor
      How much is Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour?
      Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour price starts from AU$90.29. Discover and book Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour on Tripadvisor
      What is the Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour cancellation policy?
      Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour on Tripadvisor
      Which company provides Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour?
      Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour is hosted by Pioneer Adventures Whitsundays. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Pioneer Adventures Whitsundays on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour on Tripadvisor

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 25676P5

      Reserve your spot
      Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • You'll start at
        Shute Harbour Marine Terminal
        Or, you can also get picked up
        See departure details
      • 1
        Shute Harbour
        Stop: 5 minutes
        See details
      • 2
        Whitsunday Islands
        Stop: 60 minutes
        See details
      • You'll return to the starting point
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Pioneer Adventures Whitsundays
        824
        Australia
        Joined in November 2015
      • leanneoates
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jet boat experience
        Awesome ride so much fun thanks to Matt for his precision driving skill’s would highly recommend it to all cheers
        Written 30 April 2024
      • 650theresew
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Awesome fun
        This was amazing so much fun. Could be a bit much for very young children. Awesome views and guide had interesting stories and knowledge
        Written 22 April 2024
      • Passenger22211532330
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing ride
        Absolutely love this so much fun. Felt very safe. Staff was amazing- great sense of humour. Will definitely be back for more
        Written 17 April 2024
      • tonimk2024
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        FUN!! Wear your togs folks!
        Didn’t stop laughing and smiling the whole time. Ben, our awesome very funny captain, made it. I would absolutely recommend, but make sure you wear togs or dry fast clothes, you will get soaked! 😆🙌🤟
        Written 27 March 2024
      • F7513EBkevinw
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great snorkeling at Dumbell Island
        Loved the trip to Whitsundays to enjoy the view and beach. Then on to Dumbell Island for snorkeling. The coral was amazing, so much to see and beautiful colors. Lots of fish swimming around as well, amazing experience. Captain and helper were friendly, funny and made it a good day out. We went to one other snorkel spot, but do not remember the name.
        Written 16 March 2024
      • MLS2024301
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great trip to experience the reefs!
        A super way to see the coral & marine life. The crew were excellent & the commentary brought the reef to life. Would recommend this tour
        Written 16 March 2024
      • jjoy2024
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fun day despite the rain
        Great staff, good info on reef and fish, despite the rain, they went the extra mile for us to have an enjoyable time.
        Written 14 March 2024
      • 655samuel
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great day out!
        I absolutely loved this trip. It was very informative and I learnt alot about the great barrier reef and all that live in it.
        Written 11 March 2024
      • 23meganv96
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great experience
        Visited this attraction with my parents, we all had a great evening on the glass bottom boat. The guys were really informative and friendly, the views were amazing. Would definitely recommend especially to those not swimming in the Reef
        Written 10 March 2024
      • sne68
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        A brilliant boat trip
        We were collected from our accommodation easily and timely and taken to the dock to board the vessel, no worries. Very interesting commentary by Matt, who has detailed knowledge relating to marine and reef life and associated issues. It's a very worthwhile trip to take on this glass bottomed boat and would highly recommend. Got dropped at The Pub on the way back! The team running the trip are great guys.
        Written 8 March 2024
      • maddisondollar
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great time on the Northern Exposure
        My partner and l had the best time. The boat ride was exhilarating, the looks out and lunch location was beautiful and had a great time snorkelling. I would 100% recommend.
        Written 22 February 2024
      • mimandjosie
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jet boat drowning
        I’ve been on a couple of jet boat rides across Australia and nothing compares to this torture. If you like being drowned at high speed this ride is a must . You can’t see anything due to the stinging of salt water in your eyes and you’re trying not to suffocate by the amount of water up your nose . Waste of $400
        Written 16 February 2024
      • michellelewis662024
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jet boat ride
        We had a great time ! Ben our driver was excellent looking after us & full of information about the area. Will be back!
        Written 25 January 2024
      • 772samantha
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Awesome
        Our driver was fantastic. Three of our kids got scared and he brought them back to the marina and then went back out with the rest of the family.
        Written 21 January 2024
      • F2846EHrachaelt
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing experience all round!
        Worth every cent! Full credit to the incredible driver we had. He had great communication and made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed every minute! Would 100% recommend to friends and family and will definitely do it again!
        Written 20 January 2024
      See all 824 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      We perform checks on reviews.
      Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
      Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
      When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
      Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
      Learn more about our review moderation.
      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles115 reviews
      Excellent
      82
      Very good
      13
      Average
      7
      Poor
      6
      Terrible
      7

      Carolyn D
      1 contribution
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sept 2023 • Family
      Would not recommend this tour not even worth a star, paying $240NZD then an extra $42NZD at resort (their cut for booking) totally over priced. We were picked up and taken to Shute Harbour, tour was running late and we were lucky if we even got the full 1hour 10min duration on ours. On the day of tour the weather had been a bit average, at time of booking there was no information given to us OR on your beautiful flyer at the NRMA that suggested we wouldn't see beautiful coloured coral and turtle's totally misleading flyer.I feel there needs to be a disclaimer somewhere about weather, tides time of year, corals you will see and sea life so people can make more of an imformed decision before booking as its alot of money (for our family). To drag our whole family out get jammed in like sardines on the boat to see a few fish that needed to be feed and merky looking coral and the glass on the boat needed a clean was disappointing to say the least. The kids had more fun at the Prosperpine airport looking at the fishtank. Thankfully seaworld only has $15 glassbottom boat rides that make up for everything we missed. A whole lot of money for absolutely nothing.
      Written 4 October 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hi Carolyn, I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with the tour, and I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments help us understand areas where we can improve our services. We apologize for any lack of information regarding the potential impact of weather, tides, and the time of year on the tour experience. We understand how important it is for travelers to have accurate expectations before booking any excursion. It's important to note that some factors, like weather and the behavior of marine life, are beyond our control and can affect the overall experience. We do our best to provide an enjoyable and safe experience for our guests, but we understand that these factors can be unpredictable Once again, we apologize for any disappointment you experienced.
      Written 6 October 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Zoey C
      3 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      The tour itself was great , both skippers of the boat were knowledgeable and friendly making up for some of the horrors before and after the actual boat tour.

      The lack of availability to contact and organisation prior to the tour was an issue along with the unprofessionalism of the driver of the shuttle bus that left us feeling stressed and impacted the overall experience.

      We booked the 3pm tour and planned to meet at the meeting point noted at 2:30. The morning of we received a call from the company and was told that we would be picked up at 2:15 from our hotel as it was easier for them. We waited for collection from 2:10 - 2:50 and called over 15 times to see what was happening with no answer. Worried we were missed from the pick up and that we would miss the experience we started to head to the harbour to see if we could still make the 3pm tour. At 3pm we receive a call saying that they are here to pick us up. Explaining our concerns (that was brushed off and left us feeling stupid) we were told to wait at the harbour car park and the driver would collect us from there. Once on the bus the driver felt it appropriate to make a mockery of us with no apology or explanation why they were 35mins late. To add to the horrible experience after the boat tour the bus driver refused to drop us back to the harbour car park “due to time” until we protested and reminded that our car was there as we’d been missed from the pick up.

      This tour had the potential to be great hopefully pioneer adventures can take onboard the feedback and be more available to contact / provide updates to their customers when tours are running late and perhaps speak to their driver about accountability and customer service.
      Written 29 December 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hi Zoe, Sorry for the delay in response to this review, I wanted to investigate it thoroughly as this is not how we operate at Pioneer adventures as many of our reviews show. On this day we were running behind due to having late people and we was conducting back to back runs its rare to be 35mins behind, so I apologise for that. The phones are very busy over the Christmas period and keeping everyone updated of the bus arrival is hard. I have been through the company phone logs because calling more than 15 times is unacceptable to us, could you please email me separately (info@pioneeradventures.com.au) with the number that you called from as the contact number that was provided we only received two calls at 14:35 and 14:39 so id like to investigate further as it doesn’t add up. Also, within the email can you please elaborate on the mockery received from the bus driver. I spoke to the driver and he assures me that he did not intend or mean for you to feel this way and assures me he dropped you back at the meeting point in the upper car park without question. Lastly, I’m sorry the experience wasn’t as good as expected and we would be happy to take you out anytime free of charge we endeavour to make all our experiences pleasurable so that we have repeat customers and recommendations from fellow travellers, thanks for taking the time to write this review all feedback is welcome to help improve the experience.
      Written 9 January 2021
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Tes
      1 contribution
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sept 2021 • Couples
      My partner and I went on a boat ride. it was very disappointing as it only lasted 35 minutes compared to the 70 minutes advertised. some coral was hit by the boat which is disappointing. you can tell the coral is bleaching and it is overall just a very poor experience.
      Written 21 September 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      BeckStephenson
      Brisbane, Australia27 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      What an absolute blast!!! Luke was a hilarious guide! The beautiful reef speaks for itself!!! Would absolutely recommend these guys, from collecting and dropping off from our accomodation, every request was answered with a “yes”, maybe a witty remark, and a smile. Incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and in case you haven’t been reading til now funny AF!!
      Plenty of time spent of the reef with lot’s of fish and turtles spotted. An hour in the boat was perfect for my 5&7year old boys!
      Written 4 January 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hi Beck, Thanks for the wicked review! Glad you and your boys enjoyed yourselves and Luke entertained you! Come back for more laughs anytime! Thanks PA
      Written 22 January 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Jordan H
      19 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nov 2022 • Family
      It’s always cool to be out on a boat. It’s a small boat so it was easy to talk to other people.
      The tour operators were very friendly. They were organised and made sure to calm prior to make sure we knew where we were going because we drove there ourselves instead of getting the courtesy pick up bus.
      We saw the head of a turtle pop out of the water which was the highlight.
      It was a very nice way to spend some time on our holiday.
      Written 12 November 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hi H7982ZBjordanh,Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great time on our glass bottom boat. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
      Written 24 November 2022
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      silverfox2012492
      Perth, Australia53 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      We spent the morning on the glass bottom boat. The trip was well run and the skip Ben and his assistant gave a good commentary of reef and local area. I would recommend this trip to friends.
      Written 3 December 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hi silverfox2012492, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and recommending us! We are stoked you enjoyed the trip and we hope to see you again soon!
      Written 6 December 2022
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Genna129
      Chinchilla, Australia3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mar 2023 • Solo
      The guides are very knowledgeable about the reefs and can answer just about any question you can throw at them. They were very warm and welcoming and made a huge effort to make sure their guests have the very best experience they can. A definite must-do tour if you’re in the region, the value for money for this experience is second to none!
      Written 12 March 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hi Genna129, Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We will share this with the crew to let them know to keep up the amazing work. Thanks so much for your support, we really appreciate it! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
      Written 17 March 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Satisfied
      8 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jan 2023
      If you don't want to go snorkelling then this is the next best way to see coral and fish. We enjoyed this experience. The tour guide was good but he really shouldn't be eating whilst trying to give a commentary. We saw lots of coral and fish and glad we took this tour but I was hoping to go our a little more. The tour was meant to be 70 minutes but was over in just 55 minutes. Nice regardless.
      Written 23 January 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hi Maddalena , Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and recommending us! We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future.
      Written 6 February 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Samantha W
      Maryborough, Australia51 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      June 2021
      Although it was a little rough on the day, the glass bottom boat provided us a lovely view of the corals in the waters of Schute Harbour. Our host was very knowledgeable and obviously a lifelong local. We really enjoyed this adventure and it seems so did all the kids who came along.
      Written 25 June 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Velai P
      59 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      July 2021
      The tour was disappointing as we only saw very little coral, the reason given was the time of day which was 4 pm and the sun was still shinning. We feel ripped off as we seemed to have paid more than the average tour. No matter operators probably need to make up for lost income. The colour of the coral was not vibrant apparently it was a fringe reef on the edge of the islands. So, travellers do more research before you book so you can compare apples with apples.
      Written 28 July 2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Showing results 1-10 of 111
      *Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

      Airlie Beach Glass Bottom Boat Tour provided by Pioneer Adventures Whitsundays

      All things to do in Shute Harbour
      Day Trips in Shute HarbourSpas & Wellness in Shute Harbour
      RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars