We drove from Calais to Appletons, which was a horrendous seven hour journey, although we did have regular stops to stretch our legs and toilet our dog. On arrival the sign for Appletons was partially hidden, so we asked a chap in a garden if this was the place "Yes" he said then waited.....as my husband & I looked at each other, the man (who later turned out to be Edward) said in a sort of impatient tone "would you like to come in?" Er yes, if it's not too much trouble... We parked where he pointed, and let our dog out and were quickly asked to take her out of the garden, so that she didn't "go" in there and upset their own dog. As responsible dog owners we always pick our dogs mess up and would've done so, if she had done anything. We were directed down a nearby lane and then informed that "they" were going shopping & wouldn't be there when we returned. On asking if we should be given our room now then, instead of later, he replied "Jennifer's here" in a manner that suggested we should have known who Jennifer was!! On returning we were served tea in the garden by a very pleasant girl (Jennifer) who was working there for a few weeks. Eventually we were shown to our room, a good hour or so after we arrived. A short while later we ventured into the garden with our dog on an extendable lead, but let her off when Leo, the Appletons dog came to play with her. After a walk around the beautiful garden, (although we were quite repulsed by the plastic flycatchers dotted around, which were swimming with dead and live flies, moths, wasps and other flying insects), we stopped to have a word with Malcolm about their chickens, it took a couple of attempts to engage him and he carried on doing whatever he was doing, with his back to us & made us feel like he was far too busy to spare a few words. We gave up in the end, but we started to feel a little uncomfortable. Before dinner we were gathered on a patio area with the other guests for drinks, and the change in Macolm was phenomenal, he was chatty and cheerful. Dinner was absolutely delicious, the service great and the wine unlimited. We did raise our eyebrows at Edward's little tantrum tho', when the tiny jug of balsamic dressing, that was on the table, ran out (there were twelve of us for dinner, and the jug was around three inches high and half full). He was eventually coaxed by Jennifer (the help) to make some more... The bedroom was basic but clean and we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was poor, only cereal, mictowaved srambled eggs, toast and preserves on offer, I was given the toast left on the table from the previous guests, together with their leftover coffee, although more was brought out to share when the other guests sat down. Compared to the other B&B's we stayed at throughout our stay in France this year (some English proprietors, some French) it was a pretty uncomfortable stay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14 September 2011
We are sorry that you left our home feeling disappointed with your stay. We do our best to take care of all our guests, we are sorry you did not have a great time with us, maybe one day you will give us the chance to prove we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC